deep fried waffles, maple bacon buttercream in bacon muffinettes

deep fried waffles, maple bacon buttercream in bacon muffinettes

Story time. The other weekend, I was trying my hand(s) at making French Butter Cookies, or Sablés. I wanted to press the cookies into thin pretty strips, so I broke out a spritz press that was patiently waiting, dejected and unused, for some love in my cupboard. Emphasis on broke. The first cookie pressed nicely, but by the second cookie, my frail plastic press cracked, and then full-on shattered. Attempting to keep on keeping on, I worked to make the press work with just my brute strength. Unfortunately, this meant giving myself a sizeable gash with the metal tube insert, thus bleeding all over the counter and down the side of the bowl. Into the trash went the spritz press.

Not feeling terribly deterred, I gently heated the dough, and transferred it into my pastry bag, to pipe the shortbread by hand. One tray of cookies was pressed and sent to the oven. On my second batch, mid-pipe, the dough suddenly shot out the side of my pastry bag, in a graceful arc, landing with a soft ploop on the counter. There was no keeping this pastry bag going with brute strength alone. Into the trash it went.

And the rest of the dough? It was shipped off to the freezer, to be dealt with some other day.

Following these disasters, I broke the already-chipped mixing bowl in the sink. To add insult to injury, we both spilled our dinners onto the floor shortly thereafter, mine upset by the cat, who pretended to be chill, only to shock me by freaking out and then stepping in my food.

Like the darling novel Tuck Everlasting, this is a bit of a long-lived story that comes with a moral (and akin to that epic tome, one which I hope generations of children will come to discover and cherish). Lesson learned: when making buttercream one week after annihilating your pastry bag, you will have to resort to wasting a plastic ziploc. Hmm.

deep fried waffles, maple bacon buttercream in bacon muffinettes

So, what do we have here? Well, just like this time last year, it’s my pal Mary’s favorite week of the year – Bacon Week! Always one to jump onto the bacon boat, I am so thrilled to join in on this virtual greasy-handed high five for my favorite source of fat, cholesterol, and sodium.

BaconWeek13Badge

Cruise on over to n00bcakes to see what Mary’s cooking up for Bacon Week this year! All I’ll say is…. I’m suddenly feeling very hungry.

I was so pleased with my bacon creation last year that I decided to revisit it here. Wheras last year I made a large woven bacon bowl to go with my Potato Bacon Churros, what you see here are sweet little bacon muffinettes – only two slices of bacon per muffin cup, which works out nicely when balanced with Deep Fried Waffles and a hefty portion of Maple Bacon Buttercream.

Is this dessert, or is it breakfast? With bacon week, you don’t have to choose – you can have it both ways! Dessert breakfast it is. And I would add that these waffles, un-deep-fried, are incredible. Eggy and cinnamony and really just excellent.

Deep Fried Waffles, Maple Bacon Buttercream, served in Bacon Muffinettes

{Recipe by myself}

Cinnamon + Nutmeg Buckwheat Waffles

1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. buckwheat flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
Heaping 1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp baking powder
2 c. whole milk
2 eggs
6 tbsp oil
1/3 c. chopped nuts, or more if desired

Mix all ingredients until combined. Let stand for five minutes, while preheating the waffle iron. Make waffles according to waffle-maker instructions. Set aside.

Maple Bacon Buttercream

1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 c. (1 stick) butter
1 tbsp maple bacon fat

With a hand mixer or stand mixer or super strong arms, combine all ingredients and beat for several minutes. Set aside.

Bacon Muffinettes

Preheat oven to 410 F. For each muffinette, use two strips uncooked bacon. I used maple-flavored bacon, because it makes dessert breakfasts all the sweeter. Cut one strip in half, and lay strips in an ‘x’ in the base of a muffin tin. With the second whole strip, weave around the sides of the cut strips, to create a solid cup shape. Tuck excess woven strip behind the bacon wall/cup/side. Repeat as needed (and really, when are bacon muffinettes not needed?).

Place small paper dixie cups that are 3/4 filled with water into the center of each prepared muffinette. This will weigh down the bacon as it cooks – it needs something to keep it in place, or it will curl.

Bake for 20-30 minutes, checking them every five minutes after 15 minutes of cooking time. You will need to sop up some of the fat with a paper towel or napkin, otherwise these muffinettes will be fat city once they’ve cooled. Once cooked enough to hold their shape when cooled, remove from the oven and allow to cool to room temperature.

Deep Fry Those Waffles!

Heat enough vegetable oil over medium-high heat for deep frying, and bring oil to 360-375F.

Cut out waffle circles by tracing the rim of a 1/4 c. or 1/3 c. measure with a knife.

When oil is hot, drop circles into the pan. They will be frying at a very high temperature, and thus will only require a few seconds (20-30) before needing to be flipped, and then a few more (10-20) before being removed from the pan.

Can I Play With Madness?: Assembly

Place each bacon muffinette on a square of parchment paper. With scissors, trim the first waffle circle until it fits into the bottom of the bacon muffin cup. Pipe enough maple bacon buttercream onto the waffle circle so that when the next circle is placed on top, the buttercream will show. Repeat with a second layer of each. Top with a third waffle circle, and a garnish of buttercream as desired. Serve, enjoy, and then go nap off the calories.

deep fried waffles, maple bacon buttercream in bacon muffinettes

I am baconless in the woods this week.

Thus I beg of you… please enjoy some bacon for me!

30 thoughts on “deep fried waffles, maple bacon buttercream in bacon muffinettes

  1. Hooray, Bacon Week! Those are some truly awe-inspiring waffle-y, buttercream-y bacon muffinettes you have there. Kudos!

    1. Aww, thanks Emily! I do what I can for bacon week…. all these other weeks of the year, I’ve felt lost, as if I’ve been missing a little something in my life…

      1. Hah. Well, being lost in a magical world full of forest management, chocolate, and lovely things like mulled wine gelatins sounds wonderful to me! Jealous.

  2. This is SO FANCY. What a fancy lady you are. And yet it all sounds rather do-able.

    Though I really do identify with your dropping and slicing and abandoning adventure in cookie making: it happens to me a lot.

    1. I am a fancy lady that accomplishes do-able treats, ain’t no thing! In between the accomplishments, I just have countless swan-dives into the catastrophic and unsteady.

    1. Yeah, sometimes I get a little bit out of control. When stuff continually goes wrong in the kitchen, time seems to speed up and get all wobbly. I should take this show on the road!

  3. Lady, you constantly blow me away! I am shamed by your insane recipe, and am also jealous that I didn’t think of something this cool to begin with. :D /virtual high five

    Thanks for joining in again for Bacon Week this year! I keep trying to rope more people in, but it can be tough competing with that “Easter” thing. >.> In any case, cheers to a WONDERFUL recipe!

    1. Honey chile, don’t you dare be ashamed. Rather, be honored that I “wasted” two batches of bacon to perfect the cooking time on these muffinettes. “Oh darn, they didn’t cook enough… let’s eat these and make them again later.” Actually, those were my boyfriend’s words…. I heartily agreed. Not that my heart has the power to resist the B.A.C.O.N.

      I haven’t even thought about Easter once (until now). Bacon comes first, especially since I’m spending Easter with vegetarians;)

    1. I’m craving bacon fiercely too, and it’s been what…. three days? Life is hard, man.

      Who is Ron Swanson? I bet I’m missing out on a pop culture moment here. Derp.

  4. Bacon week! I love it!
    These look incredible. I mean, way more effort in to eating bacon than I normally would venture, but to each his own.
    Also, Tuck Everlasting is my favorite book of all time! Ok, so it ties with Bridge to Terabithia, but I try and read both at least once every couple of years.
    I feel like I must celebrate. Happy bacon week.

    1. Happy bacon week to you too! And while these were quite a bit of effort, they were also quite a bit of enjoyable. And now I’ve got a plastic bag of bacon buttercream in my freezer…. I see some late night snacking on my horizon.

      I too love Tuck Everlasting. I also like the cheesy movie version with the girl from Gilmore Girls. It can’t quite compare with the book though. And I adore Bridge to Terabithia! That book makes me all sorts of emotional. I need to go back and read it again / cry a lot because it gives me so many feelings.

  5. Ha! I guiltily laughed out loud when reading of your culinary mishaps. I might have thrown in the towel and grabbed a glass of wine, but kudos on prevailing. Sounds rich! I hope Eli knows how spoiled he is. Hope to catch up soon.

    1. Wine! That would have been a great idea. Martha knows best:)

      Eli sure is spoiled, but at least now that I’m working he has to make his own lunch. Less spoilage there.

      And yes, let’s definitely catch up soon.

  6. WHAT AN AMAZING IDEA!! I laughed out loud–oh so creative! I am using bacon tonight in some wild rice soup…hooray for bacon!(reminder to self: dig out those new/old cookie presses for you…)

    1. Sounds like a good way to make wild rice seem appealing to me! Or to ruin bacon…. just kidding, I bet it tasted fantastic. And I don’t really dislike wild rice, I think I’m more indifferent. Bacon would swing things to the positive side of the spectrum, for sure.

      Take your time with the spritz press…. months to go before Christmas cookie season:)

  7. Oh my goodness, that’s so sad! I’ve totally had a bleeding kitchen injury resulting from another tool that requires brute force- the dreaded zester. I have now bought myself a microplane and i don’t know how I ever lived without one! I’m sorry, but i laughed out loud when I read that you then dropped your dinner…I could just imagine kitty stepping into it. Sometimes, cats are just so oblivious.

    These little waffle thingies look downright amazing!…not to mention cute. I love mini things :)

    1. Dude you are the third person in a row to say that you laughed out loud. Clearly I’m doing something right with all my kitchen mishaps, as they provide perfect comedic fodder.

      Ack, zesters. I always hate it when I cut myself on cheese graters, since the holes are just so large and you totally know its coming, and yet you press on, sadistic much?

      I need to stop letting the cat sit on my lap while I eat dinner. I should have known that was coming, too. I’ve got so much to learn.

  8. I’ll have you know that I opened up this post from Google Reader, wandered off to get a jar of almond butter and a spoon, and then absent-mindedly ended up on the couch with a book and said almond butter. Next thing I knew, one of my housemates was reading out the title of your post, which was open on my computer, in a tone of absolute awe.

    You done good.

    1. Hey, that’s quite the super compliment, considering you don’t like bacon!

      We both win. You for your book and almond butter, and me for my awe-inspiring title. Now for a spoonful of Biscoff before bed:) I know you said you overdosed on it, but I’m still loving it, and it’s allllll thanks to you.

  9. I have been a non-bacon eater for years and am just now starting to get into little bits of it to flavour things … not sure I could go the whole hog (ha!) and eat something like this just yet, but you never know what the future holds :)

  10. listen, girl: i have had those weekends. i feel for you, because every time i DO have one of those days, i just hope no one else is having one at the same time.
    confession: i’ve never owned a spritz press, mostly because i’ve heard of things like that happening frequently. however, my mom has owned one forever – from when we were little – no problems? they just don’t make things like they used to (b/c i remember hers being like, heavy duty with metal plates or something…probably lead.) :)
    as for these tiny waffles wrapped in bacon: how totally awesome. You know i’m not a big bacon person, but i do cave on occasion if there’s a reason to. more specifically, if crisp waffles and maple syrup are nearby. and they’re SO MINI and you know how i like small. i could do these. for sure.

  11. Emma, those crazy decadent waffles look like a good way to get your kitchen groove back. I have days like that where everything breaks, I spill things and it’s just an over all disaster.
    Deep fried waffles – I’m still distracted by that concept – I’m guessing they are amazing, like the offspring of a tasty marriage between waffles and donuts. Yum
    xoxo
    E

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.