potato bacon breakfast churros, served in a bacon bowl

27 Mar

My meat-loving friend Mary at n00bcakes hath decreed that this week, March 26th – 31st, be known as Bacon Week. Sounds tasty, doesn’t it? There’s no food – other than chocolate – that more deserves a week be set aside to worship it.

            

So, bacon. Loved by many. Including, finally, me. Knowing that I must do all I can to make up for the years I spent despising bacon, I try to work it into my weekend breakfast regimen.

There’s only one problem.

Except for bacon, I don’t really like savory breakfast food. It bothers me – talk about a spoiled sweet tooth. Just the thought of potatoes for breakfast – in any form – makes me shiver a bit. It also makes me whiny, which is clearly unnecessary and unhelpful, albeit cathartic.

But as of today my problems are all solved. I have combined the dreaded potato, the adored bacon, and the needed sugar into one spectacular breakfast treat – Potato Bacon Breakfast Churros.

Topped with powdered sugar and maple syrup, these salty-meets-sweet, meaty and smoky churros are decadence perfected. The crowning touch is actually their bottom, given that they are served in a bowl made of bacon.

I’m all for saving on dishes, although it actually takes two bowls to make one well-shaped bacon bowl. Oh well – this bowl tastes way better than any others I’ve ever eaten.

Scratch that, I’ve never successfully eaten a bowl.

Serve the maple syrup in jiggers (in my case, mere ponies), or other small glasses that are perfect for dipping.

To make the bacon bowl, simply create a latticework of bacon on an upside-down Pyrex bowl, and bake until cooked at 340 F – my bowl took nearly 25 minutes. Then cover with a second bowl of similar size, and refrigerate or freeze until firm.

Pry from bowls with care, and remove unsightly fat splotches if necessary. I…. licked my fingers a lot at this point.

It’s been a week of firsts. My bromeliad is flowering for the first time since I got it five years ago. I cooked with plantains for the first time, having both a success and a failure on that front. And some of our seedlings have sprouted – malva, broccoli, basil, and Chinese foxglove.

We also had our first warm weather of the season and I worked outside on the deck, MacGyvering a scope out of my computer screen so I could be on the watch for the mailman creeping up behind me.

Now it’s frosty cold again, perfect for this hearty/sweet hybrid breakfast delight.

Potato Bacon Breakfast Churros {Original Recipe}

Makes 40 – 50 churros

++Ingredients:++

1 1/3 packed cups riced potatoes ~2 small or 1 1/2 medium peeled and boiled potatoes
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp bacon fat
1 c water
3 tbsp sugar
2 slices bacon
1 tsp brown sugar
1 3/4 – 2 c flour
Oil for frying
Powdered sugar, for serving
Maple syrup, for serving

++Directions:++

Prepare a deep heavy skillet (or deep-fryer) for deep frying. Pour in a few inches of vegetable (or peanut) oil, and heat up to, but not higher than, 375 F (190 C).

After ricing potatoes, combine with salt in a large bowl.

In a sauteé pan, fry bacon slices. When half-cooked, flip and top with 1/2 tsp of brown sugar. After a minute or two, flip once more and top with remaining brown sugar. Remove from heat when still tender, then pulse finely in a food processor.

Meanwhile inn a saucepan, combine bacon fat with water and sugar and bring to a boil. Pour into potato mixture and mix well. Incorporate ground caramelized bacon and 1 cup of flour. Add remaining 3/4 to 1 cup of flour. Mixture will become a starchy glutinous round ball.

Scoop mixture into a piping bag fitted with a large star tip. Pipe strips or shapes into the hot oil. Allow to cook a minute or two before flipping. Cook an additional minute. When churros are golden brown in color, remove from pan onto a cooling rack (set over a pan to catch drippings).

Serve with powdered sugar and maple syrup.

Make sure to head over to n00bcakes to get in on the Bacon Week festivities!

And especial thanks to Mary, for providing me with the impetus to create this divine breakfast treat.

44 Responses to “potato bacon breakfast churros, served in a bacon bowl”

  1. unwind cooking 2012/03/27 at 15:40 #

    Wowza! The potato frites look awesome!

    • emma 2012/03/27 at 17:11 #

      Thanks – wowza is what I thought when I had my first bite:)

  2. Sophia 2012/03/27 at 15:45 #

    oh….my…GAWWWD!!!!!!!!! Is that for real?!!! That bacon bowl!!! Oh my Lord!!! That’s freaking fantastic!!! AAah! I have no words now…it just sounds and look so terrific!

    • emma 2012/03/27 at 17:13 #

      Hehe! Sophia you are too funny!

      I will gaze longingly at your many NYC pics, you will be made speechless by the powers of bacon :P

  3. trialsinfood 2012/03/27 at 15:58 #

    i am drooling as we speak! yum!

    • emma 2012/03/27 at 17:15 #

      Excellent! And so master plan to make the WordPress community collectively drool begins to take shape;)

  4. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe 2012/03/27 at 16:16 #

    This is just glorious. Never have I been so tempted to eat my dinnerware. The churros sound incredible too!

    • emma 2012/03/27 at 17:17 #

      Me neither, although now you’ve got me thinking about chocolate silverware, or clear candy glassware, or hard caramel plates. Mmmmm – back to the sweet side;)

  5. tallmisto 2012/03/27 at 17:02 #

    Ummm, I’m seriously searching for words.
    First of all, I’m glad everyone is out of the house because they would FREAK if they saw this. I would have to make it RIGHT NOW if any of my clan knew this existed.
    Second, how did you ever dream up a potato + bacon churro?

    So glad you did.

    • emma 2012/03/27 at 17:22 #

      I’m so glad people are enjoying this as much as I did!

      I originally wanted to make potato spritz cookies with little candied bacon centers (instead of red hots). But… I didn’t have a spritz press. As of this morning I was still planning to make spritzy shapes with a pastry bag and star tip, but then inspiration struck, and I knew that I must deep fry. Same pastry bag, same tip, but added oil!

      Your clan would adore you for this:)

  6. cheezyk 2012/03/27 at 19:16 #

    It’s funny, when I see photos of a meal like this I want to like bacon enough to eat it like that but I just can’t – too many years of no bacon just won’t let me. I am slowly starting to enjoy it as a flavour addition to things though, almost like a seasoning rather than a food, so maybe I’ll get there one day …

    • emma 2012/03/27 at 20:26 #

      If this were March 2009 I would agree with you wholeheartedly. And I would decry the lovers of bacon that have professed their adoration on this page.

      But it’s 2012, which gives me hope that by 2015, you may be writing love poems to bacon crumpets or some such thing! :)

  7. Chad 2012/03/27 at 21:31 #

    I posted this recipe on my post (http://eastwestbetween.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/mans-meal-moment-fiesta-en-la-boca-chicken-enchiladas/) because to be honest… I cried… with joy. This looks spectacular! Everything is better with bacon, even my dishes. Thank you for bringing such a wonderful addition to the world.

    • emma 2012/03/28 at 06:37 #

      Thanks for spreading the bacon love! The pig does make the world a much better place, doesn’t it? ;)

  8. Peach Farm Studio 2012/03/28 at 01:31 #

    The ULTIMATE bowl!

    • emma 2012/03/28 at 06:38 #

      For the ULTIMATE FEAST !!

  9. Jessica 2012/03/28 at 01:42 #

    This is the stuff of brilliance! And I want it so bad. aghh…why does bacon have to be so delicious? Then again, I think it would always give me a tummy ache, so better to not eat it anyway. I love that (powdered sugar?) canister and the stump! And I hope we get to hear about your plantain experiments. I have not cooked with those fellas.

    • emma 2012/03/28 at 06:43 #

      If it makes you feel better (which would strike me as twisted), I usually have a tummy ache after eating bacon too. Perhaps this is just cause I can’t help going overboard, perhaps not. But the deliciousness, and the lingering bacon aromas, win me over every time.

      Yep, that’s my powdered sugar tin – I love it:)

      I wasn’t planning to talk about the plantains, but I’ll give you the low-down. I made a gross dessert custard which could have turned out well except it was disgusting. And the success – we also had them sliced in half (the thin way) and fried in some butter. It was a savory starchy side dish served with tacos. I recommend that!

      • Jessica 2012/03/28 at 12:24 #

        Yeah, I think plantains are mostly used in savory settings. I’ve had a tostone and plantain chips! Come to think of it, that all took place within days of each other when I was in Orlando last year. ha.

        • emma 2012/03/28 at 12:27 #

          Yeah, I’d read if you let the plantains ripen, then you can use them for more dessert-based initiatives. Apparently for savory uses you cook them before they’re ripe?

          Interesting experiments for only 33 cents each!

          • Jessica 2012/03/28 at 12:45 #

            hmm, I may just go buy me some big ‘nanners!

  10. Hannah 2012/03/28 at 07:04 #

    You crazy genius you! I’ve never really been into churros (except at Disneyland) or bacon, but I would definitely try this. After all, you said the magic words: maple syrup.

    P.S. Trust you shrubbers to have tree trunk sections at hand for photo props ;)

    • emma 2012/03/28 at 07:17 #

      Hehee, that’s me, I’m a shrubber:)

      They’re mostly just shaped like churros, and don’t taste like the churros you know and care little for. As we ate these for breakfast this morning, I was astounded by how much they tasted like French toast sticks. I don’t know if that’s a processed food you have in Australia, or if you tried them in the UVA cafeteria while you were here, but they are delicious.

      Maple syrup!

      • Hannah 2012/03/28 at 17:41 #

        Alas, French Toast Sticks are not anything I ever came across. I tended to be very focused on sneaking out as many bagels and styrofoam cups of Lucky Charms and CTC as I could, though.

        • emma 2012/03/28 at 19:26 #

          French toast sticks are a bit uncomfortable because they are perfectly little box shapes. I don’t know if people should eat geometric foods.

          They taste good though!

  11. Mum 2012/03/28 at 20:23 #

    Girrrl, Please! Creative is your middle name!

    • emma 2012/03/28 at 21:11 #

      Or maybe ‘Bacon?’

  12. erinscottphotography 2012/03/29 at 12:13 #

    Emma, Wait a second! A bowl made out of woven bacon! I am freaking out… smiling, giggling, drooling, even shaking my head in awe:)

    And I liked to hear the tidbits about your seedling. There is something so thrilling about watching the little guys sprouting up. I love it too. And I don’t know malva or chinese foxglove.

    xo
    E

    • emma 2012/03/29 at 12:21 #

      Malva is beautiful, it’s like a hollyhock and mallow combined. Chinese foxglove is also pretty, and is tolerant of shady conditions – I plan to put it under some spruce trees.

      Having a bacon bowl under my belt inspires me to create a whole lineup of bacon art. Bacon statues? Bacon stand mixers? Bacon bracelets? The world is my bacon oyster!

  13. erin @ yummy supper 2012/03/29 at 12:15 #

    Emma, Wait! A bowl made of woven bacon! I am freaking out: smiling, giggling, drooling and shaking my head in awe:)
    And I love hearing about your seedlings. SO fun to see the little guys take root!
    xo
    E

    • emma 2012/03/29 at 12:21 #

      ohhhh, they’re taking root alright!!

  14. Brianne 2012/03/29 at 15:49 #

    These look fantastic! Deep-frying is a serious undertaking, but well worth it for delights such as these! And of course, that bacon bowl is nothing short of genius.

    • emma 2012/03/29 at 16:03 #

      I love deep frying! It’s most definitely worth it, and not that messy as long as you keep a paper towel nearby and have a slotted spoon on hand.

      Aww, bacon genius:)

  15. ASHLEA 2012/03/30 at 16:40 #

    Wow that is an over the top recipe in the best possible way! How creative and unbelievably delicious looking!

    • emma 2012/04/02 at 09:56 #

      Definitely so far over the top! Hah, thanks:)

  16. El 2012/04/02 at 09:52 #

    They’re beautiful. Amazing work.

    • emma 2012/04/02 at 09:57 #

      Thank you El! That’s such a lovely compliment:)

  17. kale @ tastes good to me! 2012/04/02 at 20:54 #

    Emma. Woman. A. bacon. BOWL? I am giving you a slow clap. Not the sarcastic kind. The awed and inspired and holding back tears kind. Clap. Clap. Clap.

    • emma 2012/04/03 at 06:46 #

      Heehee – I got a slow clap!

      And thank goodness, not the sarcastic kind:) Glad you like it, Kale!

  18. seefoxrun 2012/04/05 at 00:21 #

    Just awesome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Man’s Meal Moment: “Fiesta en la Boca” Chicken Enchiladas « Duly Noted - 2012/03/27

    [...] Bacon Bowl and Potato Bacon Breakfast Churros [...]

  2. n00bcakes » Out Sick – Let Bacon Week Continue Elsewhere! - 2012/03/29

    [...] out Emma’s post on her blog Of Agates and Madeleines.  She made an amazing Bacon Week post: Potato Bacon Churros in a Bacon Bowl.  Get your fill’o'bacon there today, and I’ll do my best to be back this evening or [...]

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,671 other followers

