kiwi lime blueberry raw cheesecakelets

I told myself I wouldn’t give you another blueberry recipe so soon. But I am on a ball. I am on a roll. And what do you do with a ball that is rolling? You kick it to the moon, duh.

Are you ready for my moon-kicked ball of the week? I, the self-proclaimed patron saint of all things buttery, and sugary, and unhealthy and yummy and preservativey and chemicaly and badforyouy, have managed to churn up a confusing surprise.

Kiwi Lime Blueberry Raw Cheesecakelets!

kiwi lime blueberry raw cheesecake

We have my favorite world scamperer Hannah to thank for the inspiration here. Her whirling dervish of a mind has created two similar delicacies (mango, blackberry), both of which I’ve made and loved. I recently made two varieties of my own, and while these that you see here turned out to be severely kickass, my other creation (tangerine + meyer lemon) left much to be desired. Hence, another blueberry smack in the face for ya. Smack.

You know what else is severely kickass? How easily my truck can churn through huge patches of mud. Things are warming up around here, and now that roads are getting sloppy, I regularly create muddy water tunnels as I drive. Legit walls of water go up and around the back of my truck, occasionally lapping down into the bed. Picture that. Now picture THIS:

partridge

Pretty cute, eh? Look at that ruffed grouse, being all ruffed and stuff. They call them partridge around here, which is sort of foolish if you ask me, because partridge are partridge, and grouse are grouse. But what would I know? I’m just from away… [and, uh, from the “top ruffed grouse-producing state in the US”].

The same they that call grouse ‘partridge’ shoot said partridge (grouse) like nobody’s business, so it’s reassuring to me, the ultimate non-hunter that I currently am, to find out that there is a roughed grouse population cycle, that seemingly transpires regardless of hunting pressure. Sometimes I wish I had studied wildlife biology in much more depth than I had time for in college. At the very least, I wish I had interacted with the peculiar grouse people who I lived near for a few weeks as a forestry student. They got up before the sunrise to go sit silently in the woods and wait to hear grouse drumming on logs, i.e. being all courtshipish. Weird? I thought so.

Next up, a nifty little segue. See that piece of wood in the background in the first picture? That’s a piece of birdseye maple, renowned for its gorgeousness and hefty sales tag. Perhaps you’ve heard of it? Hmm, well, check out what I’ve been up to in the past week….

birdseyeheart tree

Yep, I’ve been marking birdseye maple logs. At my awesome job site that is filled with awesome wood. It is such an incredible place, and the trees are so very happy to grow there that they even develop heart shapes to show affection for their surroundings. Aww.

Okay, enough silly woods love.

Bring on the raw cheesecakelets!

kiwi lime blueberry raw cheesecake

These have a bit of a kick from the kiwi, so choose the softest kiwi possible if looking to avoid a mouth-puckering experience. I used wild blueberries here; perhaps with storebought ones, less sweetener would be needed.

Kiwi Lime Blueberry Raw Cheesecakelets {inspiration here}

Makes 12

For the crust

1/2 c. cashews
2/3 c. dates, pitted
1/2 c. sunflower seeds
1/4 c. sesame seeds
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp agave nectar or honey

In a food processor, combine all ingredients and process until mixture comes together when pressed. If mixture remains loose, add water 1/2 tsp at a time, until mixture clumps well.

Divide mixture across 12 muffin cups, pressing evenly and well into each cup. Set aside in the freezer.

For the cheesecakealicious topping

Heaping 1/2 c. cashews, soaked overnight, and drained
Fruit of 3 kiwis
2/3 – 3/4 c. blueberries, frozen or fresh
Juice of 1 lime
3 tbsp agave nectar or honey
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp + 1 tsp coconut oil, melted

In a (clean) food processor, pulse cashews for 10 seconds. Add kiwi fruit, blueberries, lime juice, agave nectar or honey, and salt, and blend until smooth. Add coconut oil, and pulse until combined.

Pour/scoop mixture evenly across 12 prepared muffin cups, smoothing the top of each. Freeze until set, at least three hours in a deep freeze, longer in a refrigerator freezer. Thaw for ten minutes before removing from muffin pan – this will make them easier to remove.

Serve cheesecakelets slightly thawed, depending on how long you’re willing to wait; I would recommend 5-10 minutes to take a bit of the cold edge off.

kiwi lime blueberry raw cheesecake

33 thoughts on “kiwi lime blueberry raw cheesecakelets

  1. It’s okay, Emma – make as many healthy recipes as your little heart desires, because in 2 weeks I will be DESTROYING YOU WITH BACON. You think I’m joking? YOU KNOW I’M NOT.

    Interesting recipe, though! Honestly, it might behoove me to try out some healthy stuff before jumping into the realms of grease :D It will require me going out to get all those ingredients….hm…worth it?

    1. So, I had a thought today. What do you say to…. *drum roll*….. Raw Bacon Cheesecakelets??

      It was a good idea, until I realized that it wasn’t.

      Recipes like this are bit costly, so I don’t make them all that often. Nuts and stuff is pricy, yo! But worth it every once in a while:)

  2. Oh, goodness. Synapses are firing like whoa in my flavor brain right now. Kiwi, lime, and blueberry?! Dang, woman.

    What exactly is a birdseye maple? How can you distinguish them in the field? I know next to nothing about wood. Speaking of wood, there was a fire in Nutting a few weeks back in the tree core room…someone left a stack of papers on top of the drying oven. They got it under control pretty quickly, but my office smelled like wood stove for a week!

    My father is one of those grouse people back in ye olde UP. I got attacked by a momma grouse on two separate occasions. So grouses (grice?) freak me out. I do enjoy their ruffiness, though.

    1. Ah, birdseye! Birdseye are regular maple that for some unknown reason have grown a ‘defect’ that comes out looking really spectacular once boards are milled. In the field, while trees are standing, I’m not sure there is a way of knowing you have birdseye, unless there is scuffed bark. Once the trees are cut, you can look at the log in cross-section for rays extending outwards. Get looking!

      Whoa, a fire in Nutting…. that is crazy and exciting and wood stovey! Oof.

      I didn’t realize you had family living in the UP until I saw your bit about the stand mixer. I would like to move there, if only it weren’t so… removed. Hah, this coming from me out here in Clayton Lake. And grouse freak me out a bit too. When the ladies come flying out of the brush while screaming, you can’t help but lose it a smidge!

  3. I love that grouse! He is so fancy! Who doesn’t love ruffled ground birds?

    Totally not upset by more blueberry, I am not tired of it yet and these look so yummy.

    1. He is fancy indeed! That was my first thought. My second was to wonder if I could get my camera out before he crossed the road. Just made it!

      I’ll give blueberries a break for awhile, but I’m glad to know I’ve got your continued stamp of approval:)

    1. It didn’t go wrong, so much as it didn’t go right…. I needed more flavor, it was a bit bland. I’ll keep working on it, and meanwhile, this was fantastic!

    1. Ooh it is really yummy! It’s all so yummy. I wish I had some out here in my cabin…. very few yummy sweets out here.

  4. 1. That grouse looks badass.
    2. My friend has an organic blueberry farm. Your blog is going to be very handy when I start buying them by the truckload…

    1. Well yeah, obviously, the grouse is wearing its furs, and crossing where it wants, and it has attitude, girrrrl. It’s badass.

      Hey, when you start buying bluebs by the truckload, you gots to hook me up. At that point, I’ll start my offshoot blog, ‘of blueberries and blueberries.’

  5. #1. How did you get that grouse to display for you?
    #2. Where does the cheese part come in?
    #3. I would so love to have one of those birds-eye logs!
    (There’s almost no prettier wood than birds-eye maple)

    1. I found him that way! He was crossing the road, being all boss and manly. I got as close as I dared, not wanting to scare him off before I could take a picture.

      There is no true cheese in this, which appeals to me, the poor soul who dislikes the ‘cheese’ in cheesecake. Instead, pureed cashews that have been softened combine with a bit of coconut oil and harden in the freezer into what sad sallow vegans dream of cheesecake tasting like. They are, of course, slightly delusional. But this is delicious nevertheless!

      We’ll see if they actually get any birdseye out of those logs. The log on the left of the picture was the best one I found, I think. Figured it didn’t hurt to mark them, and have the folks at the mill take a closer look (and maybe give us monies)!

  6. Aw, woodsy snow and tree hearts and ruffed grouse … and muddy speedboats! (Or is it just my family that called it a speedboat when you drive through a puddle that swooshes all the way up the side of the car?) So much awesomeness … breathe it in deep :)

    1. Hehe, I love it! I have a muddy speedboat! That is the best:)

      Isn’t that tree heart nifty? I was so glad it was in a non-merchantable tree so that it got left behind to happily lord over the forest!

      1. Oh good … it’s so mossy and bendy and naturally imperfect, it would be a pity to cart it away … those cheeky saplings need a grandfatherly figure to keep them in line.

        1. Yes, we aren’t quite so wood-hungry as to cart away that type of tree at first glance! Which actually can be a bummer, because it means that we leave the poorly-shaped stuff behind, while taking the good stuff. This is called highgrading! It is a bad bad thing. In this forest though, we left plenty of good along with the bad. And the grandfatherly:)

  7. if someone were to ever have asked me what bird i resembled most, if i were a bird, i would have had no idea. Until now. NOW, thanks to you, i know that i most resemble a ruffled grouse. For obvious reasons, i think.
    Confession: sometimes (only sometimes) the word “raw” in recipes scares me. it’s probably a semi-dumb reaction to have, but it’s one i think that comes from just not knowing a ton about it. LIke how gluten-free makes me a little nervous; i just don’t know what i’m doing. These i would like to try…i think i could do these.

    1. Awww, are you a fine-feathered dandy, all decked out and ready to head across the road, just like a ruffed grouse? That is adorable.

      The words gluten-free mostly just make me laugh, or clasp my hands to my face in mock horror. NOT THE GLUTEN! THE DREADED GLUTEN! NOOOOOOOO!! I’ve learned to accept raw though, it mostly just means lots of dates&nuts, and avocado when I’m lucky:)

      These are really very tasty, I promise you. They are a bit different though, I promise you that too!

  8. I am clasping my hands to my heart in a paroxysm of delight and love. Thank you for your beautiful words, my darling. You are my favourite maple tree markerer person. And I’m so delighted by this post that I’m not even going to comment on how it’s to be expected that a tangerine version would fall flat.

    Thank you my dear one.

    1. I let the tangerine version fail pretty quickly, because I knew if I posted it, you would leave me some sort of hate mail or death threat:) And I would rather witness a paroxysm of delight and love than an angry face and a knife coming towards me.

      Awww, your favorite maple tree markerer, that’s quite an accomplishment! Thank you so kindly dearest Hannah!

  9. Yay cheesecakelets, yay whirling dervish Hannah! And definitely yay for the grouse/partridge, who is so very cute.

    I love your tales from your job – I also love how those logs are sending out the good message to just “be”.

    1. So much yay for whirling dervish Hannah:) What a lady.

      Oh, and uh hey man, message for you here from my friends in the forest. Just be. ;)

    1. I think I could keep going with the blueberries until picking season comes around again! But I think it would be best for everyone if I branch out just a leeeetle bit:)

  10. I, personally, love your woods love. coming, as I do, from the woods. the deep, deep woods. “the dark farm” as some might say… (my only friend to actually have sleepovers that far out in the the country)

    1. The dark farm! I absolutely love that! And I have heaps of woods love, so rest assured that I will continue to share it:)

  11. I need to do these. And I think I have everything at home… but I’m not home. Baaah

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.