chocolate ginger blueberry crème brûlée

chocolate ginger blueberry creme brulee

For those of you who read one to two to several blogs, you will understand my indubitable ennui when I tell you that my Google Reader currently has 341 unread posts. I’m trying to keep up on all that you out there, on the frontiers of the crazy wild internet, have to offer, but I’m doing battle with a foe I cannot conquer: a slow internet connection (and a desire to do other things…. like watch episodes of The Vampire Diaries). Like a grumpy curmudgeon, I trundle along each night, making my way slooowly across the endless pages of the web. Where would our lives be without it, I ask you.

Would we be free to quietly enjoy the last throes of winter, storm upon storm bringing impressive blizzards and quickly accumulating snow cover; would we seek out the small telltale hints of green peeking through on the forest floor, trumpeting proudly that spring is on the way? Or would we simply be searching, impatiently, for the next big technologic thing?

I guess we’ll never know, because this here’s the internet, and it’s growing mightier every day.

allagashsnowprints DSC04209moss featherslichentree moss

Today I would like to showcase the 689th post in an impromptu series I like to call “What to Make When It is Summer, or, Get Cooking Already! Your Freezer is Jam-Packed with Blueberries.” Interestingly enough, you may recall that Post #688 (Post#3, in actuality) also featured the stellar duo of ginger and blueberry – – looks like the recipe apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

But. BUT! Oh my goodness. The idea for this Chocolate Ginger Blueberry Crème Brûlée came to me, like in a dream. Like a crazy dream, you know, where you aren’t quite sure if the thoughts that sound so radical in your head will turn out to be only subpar once they reach your tastebuds?

Those dreams are the worst – – but also the best, because sometimes they produce lovely results such as you see here.

chocolate ginger blueberry creme brulee

A hearty crunch of burnt sugar tops a near-pudding like dream of chocolate custard that is mixed with juicy blueberries and perfectly spiced with both fresh and dried ginger. I don’t always crow the deliciousness of my recipes, but oh man is this a winner. Try it out and you will not be disappointed (I sincerely hope).

Chocolate Ginger Blueberry Crème Brûlée {basic brûlée found here}

Makes 5 individual servings

++Ingredients:++

2 c. heavy cream
1/4 c. sugar
3/4 tsp freshly-grated ginger
1/2 tsp dried ground ginger
3 oz dark/bittersweet chocolate
3 tbsp sugar
5 egg yolks
1 1/2 c. fresh or frozen (and defrosted) blueberries
5 tbsp sugar, to top custards

++Directions:++

Preheat oven to 275F. In a small pan, bring cream, 1/4 c. sugar and freshly-grated ginger to a simmer over medium heat, whisking until sugar is dissolved. Add ground ginger and chocolate, and whisk until combined.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk 3 tbsp sugar with egg yolks. Whisking constantly to avoid the dreaded scrambled-eggs-in-pudding outcome, pour the egg mixture into the pan in a slow but steady stream. Cook for one to two minutes more, then remove from heat.

At this point some of you may want to strain your custard through a mesh sieve. Unlike some custards, this one (being more pudding-like) does not seem to produce any lumps, so straining is to me quite unnecessary.

Distribute blueberries evenly amongst five ramekins. Pour custard mixture on top of blueberries. Place ramekins inside of a baking or roasting pan, and fill pan with boiling water until the waterline reaches 2/3rds the heights of the ramekins. Bake for 40 minutes to one hour, or until the custards have set – if you press down in the center and you feel some resistance, your custard has set.

Let custards cool for at least 30 minutes in the fridge (or ten minutes on the counter if you are impatient like me). Top each ramekin with 1 tbsp of sugar. Use a kitchen torch to create the brûléed effect of caramelization; in place of a kitchen torch, broil for one or two minutes on the top rack of your oven.

chocolate ginger blueberry creme brulee

39 thoughts on “chocolate ginger blueberry crème brûlée

  1. I got a flame thrower (kitchen torch) for Christmas, but 2.0 is worried I’ll burn the house down with it. Maybe if I make him some crème brûlée he’ll be more open to the idea…

        1. She probably has to be careful to avoid hitting cat fur. Not saying her Cat Farm is filled with fur… but, cats get around, man.

  2. Creme brulee is not something I have made yet,actually, though it *is* something I enjoy (how can it not be when it requires a blow torch to complete?). Typically I am skeptical of your fruity nonsense, but after eating that blueberry chili (and passing the recipe to literally anyone who would listen to me), I know for a fact that blueberries can make any food better. As usual, lovely pictures and thanks for sharing! :D

    1. I’ll show you fruity nonsense…. no actually, you already found it:)

      The torch is my favorite part, let’s be honest here. And making this couldn’t be easier. Get on the brûlée train Mary!

      I am tickled that you loved the blueberry chili so much. I need to make it again, as I loved it too.

  3. It sounds like a winner with all those flavours! I know what you mean about ideas coming to you like a dream. I get these from time to time. So much fun to try them out in reality, and even better when they turn out so delicious…

    1. I have ideas like this kind of frequently, but usually while I’m out working in the middle of the woods, with no grocery store in sight for four or five days. And then by the time I make it back to town, I’ve forgotten what I had in mind!

  4. Ohhh, girl. I WANT that. It wouldn’t take too much convincing to get the guy to buy me a kitchen torch, and then this is ON. Your creativity knows no bounds! We’ve been watching House of Cards on Netflix, which has definitely cut into my bloggy-surfing time, but dang, what a great show. Also, if I see too large of a number in my Reader inbox, sometimes I have no qualms about hitting “Mark all as Read” and starting fresh. But I can only do that sometimes. I’m glad you have any internet connection at all up there; I can’t imagine what you (or me, or anyone) would do without one!

    1. Psshhh, you don’t even need the torch to make this, you can broil them in your oven! But if you could acquire a torch out of the deal, I say go for it;)

      I don’t think I could mark blogs as read, unless they’re the the bigger-name bloggers who I don’t bother to comment on anyway. Those people aren’t people to me, so I don’t really have a vested interest in their material (except maybe Sprinkle Bakes, she is so damn creative).

    1. I love it too, it’s such the perfect mix of textures, and it is always rich but never cloying! Glad you like the sound of this one!

  5. Listen: you somehow put all the flavors i’ve been craving/eating repeatedly into one thing. All i need right now is some maine blueberries *hint* and i will make this. I seriously had a dream the other day about messing around and doing a chocolate ginger cake, and this is like, that dream on steroids, with a side of fruit.

    1. Aw, no way! I make watchu like? I put the ‘A’ (+) in flAvor?

      Sorry, I tried for much too long to come up with something clever there. I’m not sure how to ship you blueberries, but I bet I could figure it out. I could look into it come blueberry season this summer. Interested f’real?

      I always take my steroids with a side of fruit, how did you know?

  6. Words, I’m pretty sure there were words in this post, in fact I’m pretty sure I even read them … BUT, those photos! Seriously, the gorgeousness you are surrounded with!!

    Oh, I did read the words because I remember thinking that anytime I’m away from the internets for too long and my Reader ends up full I, like Brianne, have no qualms in hitting ‘mark as read’ on all but a select few of my subscriptions (and then I tend to unsubscribe from anyone that I’m happy not to have read for a few weeks).

    1. Dawwww:) You are a sweetheart! I am surrounded by heaps and heaps of gorgeousness; now I just have to figure out how to continually change my photographic perspective so that I can keep posting photos of the same area!

      That’s a good idea to unsubscribe… sigh. I’ve been trying my best in recent weeks to just intermittently follow all the blogs I can think to type into my address bar, because logging into Reader freaks me out too much. I bet quite a few of the 350 are actually ‘read.’

      1. I have no problem with photos of the same place, especially as the seasons start to change everything anyway. :)

        I found I was just staring blankly at too many of the things popping up in my Reader … clearly if I wasn’t interested in reading it, it had no place being there!

  7. I couldn’t be without my darling internet! But…I hear ya about the Google Reader. Mine is ridiculous. Not quite the time-saving venture organisational venture I thought it would be.

    1. Thanks Laura. You’ve been sick and bundled on your couch – you are by all means allowed to leave multiple comments to cover all your bases!

  8. Talking about odd combinations, I just made chili that called for peanut butter…it was really good, sort of smoothed out the flavor. Your recipe sounds so very good, I really may have to try it! The photos, tho, are great–what the heck is that spidery, rooty looking stuff? And is that clubmoss I see, or something else?

    1. PB in chili? Hmmm, how was it?? Sounds very intriguing. Did you ever make my blueberry chili? I don’t remember… If not, you can see that Mary (above) was a real fan of it. Isn’t that cool, someone is a fan of something that I’ve done? How strange.

      The spidery stuff is a trippy close-up of droopy tree lichen hanging from a tree branch. And I’m not sure if what you see is club moss or not, I actually had never seen that kind of plant (fern ally?) before. I need to take a look in my plant book when I get home – I don’t have it out here, as I figured I wouldn’t need it yet with all the snow cover!

  9. We would be huddled together around a stove twisting straw into “firewood”, that’s what. And grinding wheat in a coffee grinder to make bread.

    I bet Laura Ingalls Wilder would have been awestruck by your brulee.

    1. I want to be doing those things! I would take those things over the internet almost any day. You know I would.

      And I want to hang out with LIW too. You know I do.

  10. These look wonderfully amazing!

    Vampire Diaries – my shame. I wish I didn’t love that show.

    1. Oh my gosh, it is just so good! What most amazes me is how many important characters they’ve killed off, and yet the show continues… and continues to be suhweeeet!

  11. Is that snowshoes I see?? I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go snowshoeing…and to live in Maine, so i’m supremely jealous. Plus, you got to eat this delectable looking dessert! Love the combo of chocolate and blueberry. I’m a fan of anything with a custardy base :)

  12. Emma, I often wonder what life would be like without the internet. I guess we would read more books and play more board games – that sounds pretty nice.
    But then again seeing your stunning photos of your winter landscape make me so happy that this internet thing exists. Such beauty where you live!
    xo
    E

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.