almond chocolate ice cream macaronwiches

For the past couple of years, I (being of sound mind) have considered driving to New York City to take part in Macaron Day, or le Jour du Macaron if you are le French. That’s eight hours and 460 miles of driving (one way), just to snag a macaron here and there in the city’s bakeries. I don’t even like macarons that much.

I’m now 615 miles away, so my previously silly and idyllic dedication to baked goods has become ludicrous – I’m not going anywhere.

But I can still celebrate, and heck, I don’t even have to wait until the 20th. I can celebrate right now! That’s no ganache or buttercream between my macarons pictured above: for this fête, I have paired my almond macarons with an almond chocolate custard ice cream to make ice cream sandwiches – or as I like to call them, Almond and Chocolate Ice Cream Macaronwiches !

  

These may look like one-off macarons to you, and yes, they don’t have the ‘feet’ typical of well-made macarons. “They look more like cookies,” you might say. They look like failures, you might think.

My rationale here was that I prefer my ice cream sandwich cookies to be thin, wide, and large, but not tall, easily breakable, or hard to handle. I adopted the idea for these macaronwiches, and the result was a cakey ‘cookie’ that accentuates the ice cream in a simple, delicate way.

I added a small amount of almond extract to the boiling sugar-water mixture – this kept the mixture from reaching the soft ball candy stage, which in turn prevented the whipped meringue from becoming truly shiny. Hence macarons with no feet. To make regular pretty macarons, add no almond extract, or add it at the end stage of whipping.

Given my recent lamentations on the prevalence of snow and slush in the vicinity, ice cream sandwiches may come as an unexpected choice.

But despite the lingering snow and stormy skies, it reached nearly 60 degrees F outside yesterday, when I took the pictures below. I opened my window, allowing spring to percolate into the house. I sloshed about in my rain boots. And I devoured plenty of almond chocolate ice cream.

Despite their flatness, the macarons were still fluffy, and with time in the freezer they took on a bit of the hardening ice cream’s moisture. Due to this, it is best not to stack them in the freezer. Don’t worry though, I’m lazy and didn’t follow my own advice.

Almond Chocolate Ice Cream Macaronwiches

{original concept; basic macaron recipe from Mélanger}

Makes 10-14 sandwiches

Almond Macarons

++Ingredients:++

125g almond meal
125g powdered sugar
100g egg whites, aged
3g meringue (egg white) powder
150g granulated sugar and 50ml water
1/4 tsp almond extract
Chocolate sprinkles/jimmies

++Directions:++

Process the almond meal, let sit to dry. Pulse with powdered sugar.  In a mixer, whip half of the egg whites to soft peaks.  At the same time, bring water and granulated sugar to 242F (117C) in a saucepan. For flat cookie-style macarons, add in almond extract – this will keep temperature from creeping much past 230F, some of the mixture will evaporate. Slowly add the boiling syrup to the egg whites and continue to whip on medium speed until they thick and shiny and are completely cooled (about 10 minutes).  If making regular pretty macaron shells, add almond extract when meringue starts to turn shiny.  Mix the remaining egg whites to the sifted almond mixture and fold into the meringue in four parts.

Pipe macarons on lined baking sheets. I made these shells larger than normal, to be tasty ice cream sammy size. Double up baking sheets if you do not have professional grade quality.  Let macarons sit at room temperature for 30-60 minutes. Sprinkle some of the shells with chocolate sprinkles. Bake 280F (140C) for 15-18 minutes.  Remove from parchment, and refrigerate.

Almond Chocolate Custard Ice Cream

{Original recipe}

++Ingredients:++

1 c. heavy cream
1 c. whole milk
55 g unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
55 g dark chocolate, chopped finely
Heaping 1/2 c. almonds, chopped in half and toasted
4 egg yolks (save the yolks when separating eggs for the above macarons)
1/2 c. (100 g) granulated sugar

++Directions:++

Mix cream, milk and cocoa powder together in a saucepan, and bring to a near-boil to scald the milk. Remove from heat, add chopped chocolate, and let sit for a minute or two before mixing to incorporate chocolate.

Whisk egg yolks and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add almonds. Whisking constantly, add a bit of the hot milk mixture to the yolk-sugar mixture. Continue to add and whisk until completely combined.

Return all to a saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens into a custard. At this point the mixture will coat a spoon, or will be approximately 170F.

Remove from heat and stir in extracts. Pour into a long shallow pan, and place in the freezer. Stir the mixture every twenty to thirty minutes for the next 60-120 minutes, until thick, but soft enough to make ice cream sandwiches with.

Set up your macaronwich-making station: lay out pairs of macaron shells. Using two spoons, place a generous dollop of ice cream on one of the shells. Press second shell onto ice gently, using your palm to press the shell down slowly. Place on a plate or tray, and freeze until hardened.

When I was young, I hated cake. This story is sad but true. And so, cake-hater that I was, my birthday always found me enjoying an ice cream cake. These sandwiches are, to me, reminiscent of ice cream cake. Dense and chewy and sweet and good.

I am submitting these to Mactweets’ Mac Attack #27 – Macaron Day. There is no better way for me to celebrate the ‘birthday’ of the macaron than with ice cream sandwiches, err, macaronwiches. Un bon jour du macaron à tous !

40 thoughts on “almond chocolate ice cream macaronwiches

  1. Hey Emma,

    I’m glad you’re filling your time with sweet goodness in the kitchen and blogging. Kudos for submitting your recipe for the upcoming event. I have yet to jump on the epicurean competition bandwagon (though I should start soon!). While skimming through the latest Gourmet magazine I found a few recipes that I thought you would fine inspiring such as bacon oatmeal raisin cookies, and fennel and sea salt shortbread. There were several inspired pastry recipes from some of the leading bakeries. There was also a recipe for twice baked sweet potatoes with bacon brittle-yum! I hope to try to interpret my own version of at least one of these recipes this weekend.

    Should get back to work, but hope all is great!

    1. Martha, I’m glad to be filling my days with sweet treats too. I feel a bit guilty about it at times, but I’m sure if I ever get a job the fun will have to be reined in quite a bit:/ So better make the best of it while I can, right?

      I made a fennel shortbread once, it had olive oil in it, too. I messed up the conversion from grams though, so it was quite chalky. I could see its potential despite the chalkiness – I should try it again!

      All the recipes you mention sound delicious… especially those twice baked sweet potatoes – – I’m going a bit wild this morning because there is NO BACON IN THE HOUSE!! Eeeek:)

      Let me know if you make any of those recipes, and how they turn out!

  2. These look the best. Absolutely.
    And too bad I don’t have any of those here right now. Or any other macarons.
    (Might have to change that tomorrow when I go to Zürich)

    1. Silvia, thanks for the nice comment:) I’m sure macaron connoisseurs would stick their collective noses up at these, but they sure make for a wonderful dessert!

      Did you get any sweet treats while in Zürich?

      1. Oh yes… I bought some bars of chocolate, and visited a recently opened Nougat store…. so I had to get some Nougat as well!

  3. Ooooh, these look fun! And you made ice cream! The weather has been crazily appropriate for frozen treats…although my choice is Ben & Jerry’s new Greek Frozen Yogurt. I don’t know if the Greek version is any different from the regular kind when they’re frozen, but it sure is delicious!

    1. Brianne, heck yah I made ice cream! Custard ice cream is so darn easy to make, it’s a shame I don’t make it more often.

      That Ben & Jerry’s sounds incredible. Given my penchant for yummy acidic Greek yogurt, I’d love to try it frozen:) I’ll have to look for it at the store!

  4. Macaron ice cream sandwiches are the best (though I haven’t experienced one)…yay for no egg waste! Custard is my favorite. Mmm… Maybe I should celebrate this holiday by buying some macarons. ;)

    1. Jessica, hah, yeah they’re pretty tasty (though you may not know that)!

      I always feel bad throwing out egg parts, but it’s very rare that I use up egg miscellany when I keep it in the fridge.

      Definitely celebrate Macaron Day… it’s just an excuse to indulge, right?!

  5. Oooo…ice cream sandwiches with macarons! Now that is a genius idea. They’re so petite that I can see myself popping one after the other until they were all gone.

    1. Alayna, these were actually very sizeable, maybe 2/3rds the size of a regular ice cream sandwich. I wondered why I haven’t seen more of these – it’s the perfect combo:)

  6. I just had mini macarons as the after-dinner treat with coffee at Mum’s 60th birthday dinner! Yay!! I bet yours are tastier though :)

    Also, dear lord, if New York was but an eight hour drive for me, there’d be no question. Melbourne is eight hours’ drive, and I used to think that was a positive thing. Oh, New York!

    But I an see that 10 hours drive is kinda a lot now.

    1. Hannah, ooh mini macarons – where’s the fun in ‘mini,’ by the way? I want massively large macarons:P

      With the price of gas as it is, as well as the cost to park in the city, a 16-hour round trip just to snag some macs would be illogical and quite unaffordable. I’d love to go, but perhaps for something more necessary…. like, chocolate bars??

      :)

      1. “Mini” has a certain appeal when it’s coming after 3-4 courses plus bread plus amuse bouche plus coffee ;)

        1. If so says the woman who ate ten desserts and lived to tell the tale in multiple parts, I believe her!

          :)

  7. So Hannah’s mum and yer mum are just about the same age–life sure is interesting! Delectable post. Wish that I had some without all of the work right now:-)

    1. Mum, not to mention that Hannah and Emma are about the same age too:)

      Where’s the fun if there’s no hard work? Just kidding, although I guess that’s sort of my life motto, hmm!? I’ve got a new meringue pie recipe in the works – I wish I could share that one with you, too!

      xo

  8. Mmm. Ice cream macaronwhiches sound fantastic! Just the almond chocolate custard ice cream sounds dreamy!

    1. sarah, my world became a better place on the day I discovered custard ice cream. Thank you, David Lebovitz!

  9. Hi im just a passenger :)

    Im so in love with your blog and the picture you took for chocolate was AWESOME!!!!!

    all the best,
    Hill

    1. Hill, I am floored by the niceness of your comment – thank you so much:)

      Feel free to passenge all you want here! ;)

  10. One of my favorite qualities about macarons is that they still taste great no matter how they look (given enough time to absorb the moisture of the filling, that is). I would gobble these up in a second ;).

    1. Xiaolu, that’s very true, and a nice sentiment! I think when summer comes, I’ll try a sorbet filling with some proper-looking macs:)

    1. Adrian, you flatter me! What a nice comment:D

      As I like to say, Fergalicious Def…. def def def def def def def def def def!

  11. Flat macs still taste great–especially with chocolate ice cream! Sending some warmth your way from South Texas! Happy Macaron Day!

    1. That warmth is welcome – – we had six more inches of snow yesterday!!

      A happy macaron day to you too; thanks for the comment:)

  12. Delicious! Anything almond and chocolate is right up my street, and these sweet macaronwiches have me yoddling! What a cool way to celebrate Macaron Day! Beautiful photographs Emma. Thank you for joining us at MacTweets!

    1. Thanks Deeba! Would like to hear your yodel, perhaps there’s a widget for that somewhere around here:)

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.