one day in copenhagen

I enjoyed four hours’ worth of torture so much yesterday while prepping my Swedish post that I decided to repeat the performance today. Much to my relief, the wifi was loads better, as was my intelligence when deciding how to upload the images. Meaning I didn’t have to upload each one three times. And so, all about our day trip to Copenhagen, which I’m excited to write about as it lets me reminisce on this fair city.

Copenhagen may possibly be the most enticing city to stroll through, at least of the large cities that I’ve visited (which are but a few). Modern Scandinavian architecture and buildings of all colors blend in well with the old. Church spires, and other sorts of spires too, entice from every corner, and each one is different. Each one is alluring, and we were drawn to them, forced to their bases by some sort of invisible magnetism. The one pictured above was my favorite; those creatures holding the spire up are but one of the reasons why I love this building. Such a curvy peculiar spire. I was able to find out what this building was called by going on the Maps apps on my iPad and doing a cool 3D flyover of the city. Do this yourself to feel the magnetic pull of the spires! Doooo it. 

This is the Børsen building, and it was built from 1618-1624 by King Christian IV. It was used as a commodity exchange center, and was once a place to go and be seen. According to the building’s website, the King’s soldiers could shut down trade if they wanted to “by marching through the building with drums and pipes.” And written records were kept of the merchants complaining about “loud people and drunken sailors.” Et voilà.

There seemed to be more bicycles than people in Scandinavia. The first photo in the above quartet was actually in Sweden, at the Malmö train station as we were locking up our bikes to take the train to Copenhagen. You are seeing free of charge two-tiered bicycle storage for commuters. And there was only one free space available! We had to lock our bikes to a railing.

After our near fiasco searching for trains that accept bikes in Sweden, it was nice to see trains that were clearly marked and showing that bikes are permissible onboard. In the third photo, another shot of a bike mob in a square in Copenhagen (please also note the very nice spire in the background). I kept taking flicks of large bike conglomerates, I just couldn’t get over it.

And in the last photo above, we stumbled across a trio of improv theater performers in a public garden in the early evening. We couldn’t understand anything that they were saying, but I don’t think that mattered much; I think much of what they were saying wasn’t proper Danish either. The theme of the performance was – how apropos – drunken sailors, or wannabe sailors, and a fancy smirky lady who makes herself known to the fellows and moves into the boat next door. Hijinks ensue. We didn’t stay until the end as we had a train to catch, but for zero comprehension, we laughed quite a bit, and really enjoyed watching. It’s those random little moments about traveling that I get so much satisfaction from.



We walked about endlessly through the city. My feet were definitely overtired by the end of the day, they hurt now just thinking about that day. For everything we saw, there were two or three ‘important’ touristy things that we missed I’m sure. We looked up dim sum restaurants, but the reviews were somewhat unkind and so we decided to skip that and choose something we stumbled across. Wellll, we stumbled across one of the dim sum places I had looked at, and I shouldn’t have heeded the reviews, because the food was pretty great. 

Magasasa was located in a somewhat salty warehouse district that was verging on overly trendy. The decor was sparse but welcoming, as was the waitress. I was most impressed by the availability of pu-erh tea on the menu (one of four options), and while the food took a while to arrive, it was cooked fresh for us and it arrived piping hot. I particularly loved the shrimp toast, or Sprød Toast Sandwich, pictured above. The Gou Bu Li Boller, minced pork and spring onion buns, were delicious too. And predictably, I also loved their Siu Mai and Har Gao, but that will come as no surprise to anyone who has ever eaten dim sum with me. Give me shrimps or give me other shrimps. Do not deny me shrimps.

One of my favorite things to do when traveling is to take pictures of current or upcoming movies. It dates the trip, and makes it fun to look back on several years down the road and recall where I was when I saw the poster, and whether or not I subsequently saw the movie and if I saw it in a different place. 

When I visited France with my mum in 2003, that movie was Terminator 3, or Terminator Trois: le Soulèvement des Machines. When I lived in France in 2007, it was The Number 23, or Le Nombre 23. Jim Carrey’s creepy face will forever live in my memory floating somewhere around Montpellier. I never saw either of those movies but those are standout memories of my travels.

And so far on this trip, we’ve seen lots of movie options. Will it be Jason Bourne that lives in my memory? Tarzan? Probably not, because both of these are the same in English as they are in other languages. It may be Independence Day: Resurgence, which in Germany was Indepence Day: Wiederkehr. We even went and saw it while we were in Germany, although we understood even less than we did at the Danish improv performance. The only words I could comprehend were “OHHH MYYYYY GODDDDD,” which were conveniently left in English when dubbed.

Anyway, back to Copenhagen. It was lovely, and we had a great time. It was perfect for a day trip, and we whittled away the 500 Danish krone (75 USD) that we took out of an ATM for the day no problem. We even had enough for beers, and then other beers, and then a post-beer crepe and waffle. And then it was farvel Scandinavia.

3 thoughts on “one day in copenhagen

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

