patriotic cherry pie + pecan + buckwheat cupcakes

Is there anything more patriotic than cherry pie in America? Not likely, although using the concept of one dessert to make an entirely different kind of dessert seems pretty American to me as well.

So on the eve of our nation’s 2012 election, I would like to take a step back from all the negativity, from the partisanship, and from the excess slander transmitting across our airwaves.

And I would like to let patriotism shine through, with these “I Voted” cupcakes, aka Patriotic Cherry Pie + Pecan Cupcakes, which I made with buckwheat flour. Because – regardless of your political inclinations – who doesn’t like to vote? And who doesn’t like to receive their “I Voted” sticker afterwards?

Here is my proof of voting:

One can’t vote with dessert, you might say? Hmm. Watch me.

The real question, voting aside, is whether you’d consider these to be muffins or cupcakes. I took a cupcake route with these (a bit more butter and sugar, more eggs), although they look healthy and muffiny because of the buckwheat flour. I sifted some cornstarch into the buckwheat to give it more of a cake flour texture, and to lighten up the final product.

Toasted pecans add a hearty crunch, while cherry pie filling adds color, flavor, and a wee bit of patriotic glory. America the beautiful.

 

Shh, don’t tell anyone who might be calling my patriotic bluff, but this buckwheat flour actually came from across the border, in New Brunswick.

Isn’t it beautiful?

It’s getting downright wintry up here in northern Maine. It gets dark now by 4 pm. I have a definite need to be wearing 3+ layers at all times. And snowflakes whirled around me as I walked outside this afternoon. Yet at the school farm nearby, apples and raspberries clung to their branches on a recent foggy morning. Raspberries! Can you believe it? I can’t.

  

If you’re inclined towards healthier desserts, these cupcakes are a step in the right direction. Buckwheat is, of course, gluten-free. Pecans are good for you. Cherry pie filling is anything but good for you, but, hey, overdosing on politics doesn’t seem to be very good for you either.

Do your civic duty, and vote tomorrow!

Patriotic Cherry Pie + Pecan Cupcakes with Buckwheat Flour

Makes 1 baker’s dozen {original recipe}

++Ingredients:++

1 1/2 c. buckwheat flour, minus 3 tbsp
3 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 c. sugar
2 eggs
1/2 c. (8 tbsp) cherry pie filling (syrup only)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 c. milk
Remainder of 21 oz can of cherry pie filling

++Directions:++

Preheat oven to 350 F. Butter and flour a regular 12-cup muffin tin.

In a medium bowl, sift buckwheat flour and cornstarch repeatedly until thoroughly mixed (4-5 times). Add baking powder, baking soda, and salt, and mix to combine. Set aside.

In a stand mixer or large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add 1/2 c. (8 tbsp) of cherry pie filling syrup, and the vanilla. Mix well.

Beat in half the flour mixture until combined. Add milk, and mix. Beat in remainder of flour mixture.

Fill muffin cups half full with batter. Add 1 heaping tablespoon of cherry pie filling to each cup. Press down gently. Top cherry filling with approximately 1 tbsp more of batter.

Bake for 25-35 minutes. Remove from oven, and allow to cool in pan for fifteen minutes. Run a knife around the edge of each cup, and remove cupcakes. Fully cool. Dust with powdered sugar.

Serve with “I Voted” fondant rounds, made from pink mini marshmallows, if desired (I had fondant leftover in my freezer from my Lumberjack Pancake Cake). To make fondant rounds, roll out fondant until thin, then cut circles out by tracing a drinking glass with a knife.  Etch words into fondant with the tip of a sharp knife. Cover with a small amount of powdered sugar, and using a fine brush, brush into the cracks of words. Brush off excess powdered sugar. Repeat if needed.

42 thoughts on “patriotic cherry pie + pecan + buckwheat cupcakes

  1. Thank you for the break from all things political. I can’t wait for my “I voted” sticker, but really, I can’t wait until this is all over with!

    I wonder if more people would vote if they got one of these cupcakes instead of the sticker. Food is a great motivator…

    1. I can’t wait for my sticker either. I feel so very a-political, but I do love voting!

      Hey, that’s a good idea! After doling out candy to every child in Aroostook on Halloween, I figure it can’t be much more work to give a cupcake to everyone in the nation. Right?

  2. I read somewhere that here we have to “ask” for the sticker. What a jip! These look lovely, and your pictures once again are amazing. I’m just as excited about those raspberries as you are, but I’m wearing a tank top instead of layers. Happy election day to you!

    1. Whaaaaat?!? That’s crazy talk. It must be the stingy old people who run the polling places… they’ve always seemed quite crotchety to me.

      Whoa, a tank top. Oh man. It’s sub-50 in my house this morning. The raspberries are a mystery because I think they put out a second flush… after it had gotten cold. So weird!

      Happy election day!

  3. Man, I love the fall and winter. Don’t get me wrong, by the time spring and summer come around usually I’m ready to shuck the sweaters and break out the tank-tops, but I looove the cold and am pretty jealous that you’ve already had snowflakes. That’s the type of thing I have to visit relatives in Pennsylvania for.

    Lovely voting cupcakes! I don’t understand the use or need of buckwheat, though…is that a flavor thing, or a texture thing? Or both! And if flavor, what kind of flavor? O THE QUESTIONS!

    1. I love fall and winter too. Our fall is pretty much over, the leaves are done, it’s frigid cold, and we keep getting tempted by these gorgeous snowflakes. And yet we haven’t turned our heat on yet…. brr.

      I think buckwheat flour is wonderful… although I suppose there is no real ‘need’ of it. I saw the bag at the store and it was an impulse purchase. And I love using buckwheat flour in pancakes, but had never tried it before in muffins or cupcakes. It is incredibly nutty in taste, and perhaps a bit earthy. It is definitely also a beefier texture than regular flour, so it makes these thicker and heartier.

      I encourage you to give buckwheat flour a try, but if you’ve never had it before, you might want to do half buckwheat, half all-purpose flour, for whatever you end up making.

  4. Dark by 4pm? I don’t mind if this takes another couple of weeks to get that far here… the dark all the time is definitely not my favourite part of winter (except around Christmas….).
    We already had the first snow in the low lands… and of course, in the mountains, it’s white.
    I love buckwheat… it’s one of my favourite kind of flours. But I’m not too hot about the cherries (just today I joked to my bf that Kirsch is the only way I actually like cherries…). But as the cherries are mostly for colour in your recipe, I can try to just leave them away.

    And your fall pictures are gorgeous!

    1. Silvia, I am not kidding. It gets dark so early here! We belong in the next time zone over, it’s ridiculous that we’re not. The dark is my absolute least favorite part of winter, I can’t even imagine living further north of here!

      I love buckwheat too. And while I’m normally not into syrupy pie fillings, this was indeed for color, and a bit of punchy cherry flavor. But feel free to use any fruit-in-syrup that you’d like! Peach would be great, I think.

  5. All the furore and pride about voting amuses me, because voting is compulsory in Australia. But hey, if badges ensure you get involved in the future of the country, then I’m all for it! ;)

    (We’ll see if I’m still smiling once the results of your election are in. From an outsider’s perspective, it is insane – INSANE – to think there’s even a question… but I digress. I guess not everyone cares about their uterus the way I do… :P )

    These cakes look MAGNIFICENT.

    1. Good on Australia, although forced voting sounds a bit militant to me.

      I’m just thankful to live in a free country – I could be so much worse off, if circumstances were different – and although the politics are a bit of a head scratcher, I see voting as being sort of separate, if that is possible. It’s more about civic pride, and doing your part, I think. Plus the badges are suhhhhhweeeeeeeet! :)

      On the other hand, I’m sad that this country is so polarized. And about the insane amounts of money spent on political campaigning. And about a few other things; suffice it to say I care about my uterus!

      1. That’s a very interesting perspective – that voting is separate to politics, particularly when (in terms of the basic principle of democracy, anyway), it’s the voting that completely controls what politics are kept/shifted into power. By believing that voting is separate to what politicians are saying/doing, then isn’t that effectively saying that ultimately the populace has no power to help create the world that they would like to live in? I definitely don’t mean this as a critique, it’s just a very interesting take on things to me, and to my mind comes across as quite antithetical. But that’s likely guided by my own experience, in which everyone must, and therefore does, have a say (at least in theory) in politics every year at both state and federal level, as Sylvia references below.

        1. I was just thinking about this comment again last week, reading up on China and trying to understand their political system. Talk about voting being separate to what politicians are saying and doing – how about voting not being an option?

          I was just trying to say that my opinions on politics are totally separate from my love of voting, because while I don’t necessarily appreciate all of the politicians out there, I unconditionally appreciate being granted my fundamental right to vote. And I appreciate free speech. And yes, democracy, I appreciate that too!

    2. Oh oh oh! – – and the thing that I dislike most about the American populace in general is its tendency toward apathy. So, I very much enjoy seeing people hype elections and voting day, regardless of their political inclinations.

      1. Here, normally only about 40% of the people who are allowed to vote actually do so…. it’s sad. Maybe it would help if they handed out these cookie “I have voted” badges…. :)
        (But we get to vote about three to four times a year… but even if people get weary, I don’t understand why they abandon their right to give their opinion).

  6. I am going to petition the Canadian government to have a trade embargo put in place against you. That’s right: no Canadian buckwheat anything until you tell us about New Venture. Also, I will not being making these cupcakes – EVEN THOUGH THEY LOOK LIKE THE BEST THING EVER AND CHERRY PIE IS ONE OF MY MOST FAVOURITE THINGS ON THE PLANET – until New Venture is revealed. I mean business.

    1. movita, this sounds like a super fun plan, especially given that you have roughly zero free time. Sooooo, go for it! But hopefully – oooooh hopefully – my next post will be about New Venture.

      YEEEEEHAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

  7. Looks like a real nice recipe, and I loved the packaging for the buckwheat flour. Great photos, as usual. You know, reading your stuff just makes me feel good–your posts are always happy and positive, with really colorful photos:-)

    1. That buckwheat flour is so floofy, I feel so lucky to have so much of it in my possession!

      I’m so glad to leave you feeling uplifted:) I always feel the same after I write – it’s a great way to stay in check and stay positive.

  8. I would love to walk among the swirling snowflakes and return to one of your adorable muffins. I actually like muffins and cakes made with heartier flours better than white. Such a fascinating election cycle. I seem to become more politically passionate each year…kind of like following sports…but not…but ridiculously alike!

    1. I’m not a huge cupcake person myself, but I definitely agree with your comment on heartier flours. They add so much depth and flavor.

      Sports and politics are pretty similar:) If only the political referres could step up to the plate a little more!

  9. Oh wow. You had me a cherry pie. We need more of that in Australia damn it! One cafe started serving them and I quickly ordered it before the main came…I was that desperate. Of course, with a hunk O cream!

    These look geewed. I can just imagine how they smelt freshly baked.

    1. Hehe, hunk o cream!

      Ooohhh ya, they smelled great fresh out of the oven. And then I popped two or three into my mouth at once and they were soooo goooood.

  10. Hey, I voted with dessert on election day! Well, I voted early for the actual election, but still: there were cupcakes. I don’t think I’ve experience much in the way of buckwheat flour, but am going to go ahead and decide that these are most likely delicious. :) We’re getting a cold front tonight which means it’s going from the 80s to the 60s! Whoa, there.

    1. Wish I could vote with dessert more often. Yum yum.

      Yipes, lady, break out the flannels! Sounds downright frigid! Brrrrrr :D

  11. Emma, maybe if you could serve up those beautiful cupcakes to our politicians it could broker a peace deal! Seriously they look so good and I LOVE that they are GF. Lucky me.
    I for one am so relieved the election is over. Now let’s make cupcakes,
    xxoo
    E

    1. Now there’s an idea. I wonder, though, if my cupcakes would make it through all those fancy body scanners and security measures that are in place?

      I’m glad the election is over too. Yeah, let’s make cupcakes!!

  12. gah! you bought flour from my home province! too funny… (although probably what’s more funny is why i would find that so funny… but whatever! go NB! haha)

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

