lazy cinnamon applesauce

A lot of the recipes I craft involve somewhat crazy ingredients, or a crazy multi-step process. Replace crazy with lazy, and you have the applesauce recipe here that requires close to no thinking. A little bit of prep work, an hour’s worth of cooking, and that’s it. Delicious, beautifully-colored applesauce, without any food dye.

How? I left the skin on, of course. I’ve made it pretty clear in the past that if an ingredient doesn’t absolutely need to be peeled, I don’t bother. Example the 1st: Almonds in madeleines. Example the 2nd: Squash in Pierogi. Example Now: This applesauce.

Of all the batches of applesauce that I’ve made, I’ve never once left the skin on until now. The funny thing about this is that I’ve long treasured eating apple peel. I adore it – long strands fresh off the peeler, devoured in an instant. So why get rid of that tastiness? Everyone knows that’s where the nutrients are, anyway.

The best part of this recipe? There’s hardly anything else in it. Gone are the days where I add water, followed by a hearty (but not healthy) dose of refined sugar. This time, I added a cup of apple cider. The perfect liquid and sweetener, all in one. The only other ingredient I added was cinnamon – use it if you’d like to, or let your apples speak for themselves.

Since this recipe is so easy peasy, it leaves us plenty of time to discuss other things. Like this 1965 Mamiya C33 Professional Twin-Lens Reflex camera that I was so kindly gifted over the weekend. I’m still figuring out how to use it, but once I get my hands on some 120 film, rest assured that you will be hearing a wee bit more from me on the subject.

Or perhaps you were wondering what blue potatoes look like after they’ve been put through an industrial-grade peeler for 20 seconds. If so, wonder no more. Aren’t they nifty? They look like an in-progress batik project.

Or maybe you were curious about the chocolate I’ve been eating lately. In that case, I would refer you to the following: one Alter Eco Dark Coconut Toffee bar with Butter and Sea Salt.

It’s incredibly enjoyable. Toasty roast and crunchy chewy. It was on sale for $2.99. And I like their new packaging. My only complaint is that the bar had bloomed, but perhaps that’s why it was on sale.

Or lastly, you may have been hoping that I have some more Potato of the Day pictures that didn’t make the cut. I do! You are so lucky.

Here is a self-propelled foot, ironically walking across my dying clutch, indicating what I may someday soon be doing much more of. Just kidding, my car is running fine (I hope).

So, that easy recipe. If you haven’t before made applesauce with the peels incorporated, you have to try it. And then you have to let me know if you prefer it – because I certainly do.

Lazy Cinnamon Applesauce {Recipe by myself}

Makes 5 cups

4 lbs (~15 small) apples, I used Spartans
1 c. apple cider
1/2 tsp cinnamon

On a cutting board, core the apples. I used a coring device for this, but could as easily have done it by hand. Once apples are in slices, cut into thirds if desired (this will decrease your cooking time). In a large pot, combine apples and apple cider. Cook over medium or low medium heat for 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low, and simmer for another 20 minutes. Apples should be turning saucey, and breaking down.

Using an immersion blender, blend until smooth (alternatively, blend in a blender, likely in two batches). Add cinnamon, and mix well. Remove from heat, and allow to cool.

Eat within a week if stored in the fridge. May be frozen in a well-sealed container for several months, or may be canned in a hot water bath and stored semi-indefinitely. For an amount this small, I wouldn’t bother canning. If you double the recipe, though, canning is likely your most appealing route.

25 thoughts on “lazy cinnamon applesauce

  1. So pretty! Everything looks so pretty.
    I’m very jealous of your camera. I cannot wait to see what it takes.

    I keep buying huge bags of apples with the hopes of simmering and smelling apple sauce. It’s astonishing how quickly my kids polish off giant bags of apples. I need to hide some so I can try this recipe. I’m sure they’d find the cider before I’d get to it too.

    1. I can’t wait to see what that camera can do, either. Just looking through the lens reflector has me excited! I can’t wait to ‘shoot from the waist’ :)

      I’m glad there’s no kids around here, sneaking apples from the one not-so-giant bag that I bought… otherwise, this wouldn’t have happened. I usually make larger batches, but this amount seems perfect this year.

      Now cider, that’s a different story. I have to stop myself, or I’ll drink mug after mug of hot cider, until it’s all gone!

  2. I am such a skin leaver-oner, I can’t believe I haven’t thought of this before! Brilliant idea, nutritional and a time saver … my kind of recipe :)

    And then there’s the camera, and the chocolate and the potatoes … so many things to say, so little time and space to say them in. Suffice it to say that I am definitely looking forward to what that camera produces … or rather what you produce with the camera.

    1. I hadn’t thought to do it until we had some applesauce at a fall festival this year. They had left the skin on, but hadn’t fully pureed it. So it was strange chunky, in a good way, but still a little strange. If it was just me eating it, I may not have blended it smooth:)

      I have high hopes for that camera – apparently it was top of the line back in its day!

  3. What a beautifully coloured applesauce! Definitely looks more appetizing than the usual beige ones. I’m the sort to leave the skin on if the produce is free from pesticides, though unfortunately I can’t afford to buy 100% organic all the time.

    1. Isn’t it a gorgeous color? I was so floored by its beauty, and also intrigued by the idea of making multiple batches with multiple apple varieties, and then comparing the hues.

      I understand your concerns. The high school in my town has an apple orchard, so these apples came from there. It’s actually just up the street a few blocks:) It’s always nice to know where your produce is coming from.

  4. you mean now i have permission to not peel apples for applesauce? DONE. because you know i follow the same belief system as you do regarding peeling; i don’t peel them unless i need to either. Duh, i can’t even cut them properly, so this sounds like my perfect recipe. :)

    are you serious with that 60’s era camera? do you know how jealous i am of that camera? TONS jealous. you lucky, lucky girl. someday i’m getting a rolleiflex, if only i could pull the trigger and spend the money. right now i’m working with an old German Voightlander Vito B camera to get it fully functional, but i want yours. :)

    that’s a great potato.

    1. Hehe, I thought of you when I was trying to core my apples, because of your tale of not being able to cut them right. My corer is dull, and the apples were insanely juicy, so every time I would puncture one to start coring it, juice would fly up and cover my face and sweater. I had to take my glasses off, it got that bad. At least you haven’t done anything quite that silly yet:)

      I am so incredibly lucky with the camera, and I know it! I wish I could let you hold it, because it feels magical just to do that. It seems like if any camera could take moving pictures à la Hoggy Warty Hogwarts, this camera could.

      A Voigtländer! I love their logo, it’s so stylish. Good luck with the camera… I hope you can get it operational! I also hope you can get a Rolleiflex some day per your wishes – – can you believe this Mamiya was free? Perhaps you too will get lucky:) One day I hope to have a Leica of some sort…

  5. This post has all the things! Gorgeous colours, a simple recipe I’d be likely to make, non-peeling (I peel only things that I absolutely must, like bananas, and even then, I don’t really eat bananas, so I don’t really, GREAT SENTENCE HANNAH), chocolate (though boo because that one has butter in it, which is partly why I haven’t tried it yet), pretty new sparkly camera things I can’t understand, and you.

    The end.

    1. I love butter. The end.

      No, I’m just kidding. The butterfat is listed as organic, if that makes a difference to you? This was an impulse buy when I was downstate at a co-op and surrounded by high-priced raw chocolate bars that I found uninspired, as well as chocolate bars that I love but couldn’t justify shelling out for (again). This is such a good candy bar, although I a) wouldn’t think of it as anything more than that, and b) am confused why it’s listed as dark at 47%. Mysteries are fun though!

      I thought about mentioning how I do peel bananas, but I would have gone off on the same tangent you did. Good sentences all around!

      1. Nah, just the dairy thing. Though techincally butterfat should have all the lactose goneded…

        Hah! This is like Lindt’s “dark” bars then. 47% bah humbug :P

  6. Ohhhh… a twin reflex camera! Have fun! I’m only the slightest bit jealous!

    Putting cider on the applesauce is a nifty trick. When doing small scale apple sauce (to be eaten in one serving), I used to put apple juice to the apples.
    But when I did apple sauce to freeze, I did not only not bother with the peeling, but I also let the core in the apple. I only cut them in four pieces, removed the fly and cooked them. Then I smashed them by letting the cooked apples run through the passe-vite.

    1. Thanks Silvia:) I in turn am jealous of your passe-vite! I don’t have one, and they are oh so lovely.

      I like your applesauce-making method very much. I always worry about cyanide in the seeds, but I know the toxicity levels are low enough to not matter. Time for me to get lazier with my applesauce!

  7. Emma, that applesauce is such a beautiful bowl of rosiness! I have to say your photos are particularly awesome today. And I dig that your recipe is so “lazy” – that totally appeals to me.
    Congrats on the new camera. Can’t wait for you to share some images soon.
    xo
    E

    1. I’ve continued to marvel at its rosiness, nearly every day! I think my boyfriend has heard me talk about its coloring just about enough….. but… it’s just so pretty!

      I hope I can get some film soon…. and then figure out how to load it! And then find a scanner, too…. :) It’ll happen!

  8. I was kind of hoping that you’d be lazy enough to not even cut up or core the apples. I’m imagining quartering the apples and letting them cook longer, then putting them through a ricer to get rid of the seeds. But then I guess you’d get rid of the peels too, though hopefully some of the nutrients would have cooked out of them by then.

    1. Ahh, yes…. you’ve found me out. I’m not actually very lazy when it comes to cooking and baking…

      As I mentioned above, if I had a food mill (passe-vite), I would be more than happy to be a bit lazier with my applesauce preparation. You could always just quarter the apples and remove the core that way, and not bother to cut them up any further. That would work!

  9. I grew up in the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia – it’s basically the apple capital of the country. I love, love, love apples, and must confess – I haven’t made apple sauce with the peels. So, because I trust you explicitly (wait… I mean implicitly), I will use your method the next time I cookin’ up some sunshine in a bowl. I mean, who doesn’t love lazy cooking?

    1. Someday, I would like to visit you in real life. Nova Scotia was such a magical place, I’d love to experience it again.

      How do you feel about that? Because I trust you explicitly.

        1. Cool – I’d so like to meet the snark that is movita beaucoup in real life. I know it would be a blast! Plus I’ve long dreamt of what a ‘cat farm’ would look like anywhere outside of my mind:)

  10. Much as I’d find it impossible not to just drink the cider, I love the sound of this recipe. Am incredibly lazy about peeling fruit and vegetables, and love cinnamon, and xmas is coming up, so in fact I think I can spare that cider after all.

    Also: hilarious potato.

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

