sandbakkelse

I’m not the hugest cookie fan. This tends to shock others, given my limitless love of all things sugar. But something that I do love, perhaps even more than sugar, are traditions.  Combine holiday traditions with sugar, and magically, cookies suddenly taste a whole lot more delicious. I love spritz, but I find the cookies of Scandinavian heritage to be closest to my heart.  Pepparkakor, krumkake, fattigmann, rosettes, and of course, sandbakkels.

I get excited for any recipe that requires the use of specialty equipment, so it comes as no surprise that I delight in pulling out my sandbakkels tins each Christmas. Of the aforementioned cookies, four out of the five require specialized equipment, which I find thrilling.  I love fattigmann and rosettes for their affiliation with deep frying, Anna’s pepparkakor packaged in specialty Carl Larsson tins, and krumkake… well, I guess I don’t really care much about krumkake. But sandbakkels top my list – because they’re tasty, they’re fun to make, and because I’ve started my own tradition of baking them each year.

After a busy final week of the semester, sandbakkels were my first foray of the year into holiday baking. Next stop, lefse?!

Sandbakkels {recipe adapted from The Rustad Company’s sandbakkelse molds}

Makes 4 dozen

++Ingredients:++

1 c. butter
1 c. granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/4 tsp. almond extract
2 3/4 c. flour, sifted

++Directions:++

Cream butter and gradually add granulated sugar. Add eggs 1 at a time, mixing well after each addition. Mix in vanilla and almond extract.

Add the flour and mix until combined. Chill dough in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Press small pieces of dough into individual tins, beginning at the bottom and working toward the top edge of the tin, using enough dough to form a thin hollow shell. To make a pattern on the inside, flour the outside of another tin, and place it inside of the tin containing the dough and press lightly. Carefully remove the inside tin. Place tins on ungreased cookie sheet and bake 12-15 minutes.

When done, cool tins upside down on a cookie rack until they drop out – they may need some help with this.

2 thoughts on “sandbakkelse

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

