kumquat marmalade + pistachio linzertorte

8 Apr

kumquat marmalade + pistachio linzertorte

We just had an alarm system installed out here in the woods, in the compound that I work at. It’s not what you may think. It’s not to deter burglars, although as it turns out it deters everyone, so, burglars included. The alarm system is set up to detect fires, high levels of hydrogen, low temperatures, and power outages.

This is all part of an elaborate scheme to bring solar power into the woods. It’s a delicate mix of inverters running off the batteries that are fueled by the solar cells, along with two different generators that serve our energy needs during daily peaks and energy-demanding activities such as welding.

Anyway, the system is now sort of functional, and it’s shaping up to be an awesome step forwards for this community in the middle of nowhere. But the most recent item of business, adding in an alarm system as a safeguard, has put everyone on edge since it went live last week. On one peaceful sunny evening last week, I was enjoying the nice weather when suddenly a cop car siren went off at a volume so loud that I jumped a good 2.5 inches out of my shoes. It would be prudent to note here that our compound is located hours away from any paved roads, and no cop cars would ever dream of venturing this far into the woods. To top it off, the noise sounded like it was coming from the lake.

Turns out it was the alarm system siren (pronounced sy-reen all distinguished-like by the electricians). They were choosing a ringtone.

kumquat marmalade + pistachio linzertorte

Since then, things have escalated. Another point of interest to note is that whenever we switch over to the generator, there is a 1-minute delay when we have no power. This happens several times a day, but is nothing out of the ordinary for us. However, the alarm system has been programmed, as I mentioned, to detect power outages. So now every time that we switch to the generators, the sy-reen goes off. I think that the system has developed some sort of evil brain, because weird things have been happening with the generators since the electricians’ visit last week. The power went out at least eight times yesterday. That means the loud-ass sy-reen went off at least eight times yesterday. The sy-reen has also been sounding during the middle of the night. In a measure of good faith, the electricians have limited the sy-reen‘s duration to a few minutes, down from the recommended 15 MINUTES. Thanks guys.

We have some electronic keypads that tell us what sort of alarm is sounding. Like last week, an alarm went off because there was low temperature in a small shed that has no water or power and is uninhabited. Good to know.

And this morning, I’m being told by the keypad that we are currently suffering from…. a fire.

kumquat marmalade

A couple weeks ago, I made this fire-colored kumquat marmalade. Someone sound the sy-reen please.

Did you ever eat those SOUR SOUR SOUR SUPERSOUR sweeeeet Warheads candies? Kumquats are like nature’s equivalent to Warheads, a definite mouth party. How I have never before eaten kumquats is beyond me. Now I’m popping them like a bad addiction, and I’m slipping a few to my loggers – “oh hey, you like citrus? here, try this!” I offer, before quickly taking a few steps back just in case.

The next logical step, aside from slathering my marmalade over every glutenous surface known to man, was to pair it with my perennial favorite nut, pistachios, combining the two into a delightful variation on a linzertorte.

kumquat marmalade + pistachio linzertorte

Kumquat Marmalade + Pistachio Linzertorte

Recipe adapted from Maida Heatter and Smitten Kitchen

Yield: One 9-inch round or 8-inch square torte, sooo…. 8 wedges or 16 bars.

For the Kumquat Marmalade:

I used David Lebovitz’s recipe for Kumquat Marmalade, and the only change I made was to use three Meyer lemons in place of the recommended 2 lemons. I couldn’t write the instructions any better than he did, so follow his. Make sure you start a day ahead of time, since the citrus needs to soak overnight.

For the Linzertorte:

Base and Lattice
2 1/2 c. pistachios
1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
10 tbsp cold, unsalted butter, cut into chunks
Heaping 3/4 c. sugar
1 egg
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon (I used a Meyer)

Make base: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Butter 9-inch round layer cake pan or 8-inch square pan. Line the bottom of each with a piece of parchment paper cut to fit, then butter then paper.

In a food processor, process pistachios and 1/4 c. of flour (reserve remaining flour) until the nuts are finely ground but not pasty.

Place remaining 1 1/4 c. flour, cinnamon, and salt in a large mixing bowl. With a pastry blender, add the butter into the flour mixture until it forms crumbs. Mix in the sugar. In a small bowl, beat the egg and lemon zest until combined, then stir into flour mixture until well-mixed. Work the dough inside the bowl until a cohesive ball forms.

Divide dough into halves.

Place half the dough into the bottom of the prepared pan, and press evenly and firmly over the bottoms, flouring fingers if necessary. Press dough up the sides of the pan 1 1/2″.

Bake shell for 10-15 minutes, until it barely begins to color at the edges. Remove shell from oven and let cool slightly. Reduce oven to 325F.

While the shell bakes, roll remaining piece of dough between two pieces of waxed paper or parchment paper, until 1/4″- to 3/8″ in thickness or just a bit larger than the size of the pan. Transfer to freezer on a baking sheet until the dough is well-chilled, about 20 minutes.

Filling
3 tbsp panko or fine, dry breadcrumbs
1 heeeeaping c. kumquat marmalade

Make filling: Remove chilled dough from freezer.

Pulse panko or coarse dry breadcrumb in a food processor until a fine powder. Sprinkle panko or breadcrumbs over par-baked shell. If jam is not soft, stir it until it is, then spread over breadcrumbs.

Cut dough into 1/2″- 3/4″ strips, cutting through the bottom of the waxed paper at the same time if you want to make dough transfer simple (I didn’t do this). Lift each strip over the jam and reverse it onto the jam before peeling off the waxed paper. Arrange strips 1/2″ to 3/4″ apart, crisscrossing them (if desired, I didn’t do this either) on an angle to make a lattice top with diamond-shaped openings. Use leftover pieces to fill in any gaps between lattice-strips and tall sides of shells. Excess lengths can be added to the tall sides and gently pressed into place.

Topping
1 egg yolk
1 tsp water
Powdered sugar, for serving

Mix egg yolks and water. Brush it all over lattice top and border. Bake torte for 45 to 60 minutes, until crust is well-browned.

Remove from oven and place on cooling rack. Cool for ten to fifteen minutes in the pan, before loosening and removing. Allow to fully cool on a cooling rack. When cool, serve immediately, or let the linzertorte stand overnight (covered in foil) before serving for full flavor development. Decorate with powdered sugar before serving if desired.

beata

We caught Beata snoozing at a perfect 90 degree angle. Such a little right triangle. Be still my beating heart oh gosh.

She knows not the joys of marmalade and linzertorte, but she doesn’t need to, because she has fur and whiskers and ears and those darling legs.

24 Responses to “kumquat marmalade + pistachio linzertorte”

  1. Brittany 2014/04/08 at 12:10 #

    A cat photo AND this amazing looking treat…YES!

    • emma 2014/04/09 at 07:17 #

      “Cats and treats and cats and treats and cats and treats” is my life motto!

  2. shannon 2014/04/08 at 13:00 #

    do they seriously pronounce it sy-reen? that is AWESOME.

    presently, i can say that although i’ve had kumquat things, i’ve never made anything with them in my own kitchen; a fact i’m a little bothered by since i see kumquats everywhere right now. obviously i need to get with the program.
    your linzertorte makes me happy. also, sy-reens make me happy now.

    • emma 2014/04/09 at 07:18 #

      They seriously do. Would I lie to you for the sake of good storytelling? Naw.

      Unlike you, sy-reens make me very unhappy. I disabled the sy-reen yesterday afternoon, hopefully the sy-reen police don’t come after me!!

  3. Mum 2014/04/08 at 20:08 #

    Photos are so wierd…OMG! Where are her front legs? And what happened to her tail?
    Pretty Linzertorte! And pretty photo of the kumquats. I don’t think that kumquats were(not too long ago)as readily available as they are now.

    • emma 2014/04/09 at 07:20 #

      Because she is the cutest creature ever, she likes to hide her front legs somewhere deep in her belly fur. And she tucks her tail between her back legs all nice and tidy like. sooooooooo cuuuuuuuuuuute.

  4. movita beaucoup 2014/04/09 at 07:02 #

    My shattered nerves and battered curves could not handle that sy-reen. I’m an oddly jumpy person…

    • emma 2014/04/09 at 07:22 #

      Battered curves? Sounds indecent, and something I should possibly report to the authorities.

  5. chef mimi 2014/04/12 at 10:46 #

    Oh my. Sometimes I miss living in an apartment and having a landlord!!! A beautiful dessert and kittie! Bravo.

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:19 #

      If only we did have a landlord of the woods, then things would perhaps run more smoothly!

  6. Hannah 2014/04/12 at 20:49 #

    This post is like a cruel joke. A cruel joke. Warheads are quite possibly my favourite lolly (in the Australian sense of lolly ≠ anything chocolate-y [ergo not a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup or Snickers {which I have recently rediscovered as awesome}]), but kumquats are dooooooom.

    Much like that siren is dooooooooooom, clearly.

    But pistachios are still spectacular and you are even more spectacular, so all is not lost.

    I’m going to go keep playing Frozen on the piano now. LOVE IS AN OPEN DOOOOOOOOOOOOOR

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:20 #

      Kumquats are golden nuggets of magic, accept it.

  7. atasteofmadess 2014/04/14 at 22:33 #

    Aww! Your cat! That is the cutest!
    My mom introduced me to kumquats, and now I love everything about them :)

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:21 #

      She sure is an adorable little kitten, thanks!

  8. Monica 2014/04/16 at 14:17 #

    I’m trusting that this David Lebovitz-Smitten Kitchen-Maida Heatter mash-up you’ve engineered has got to be good! It sure looks good! You’ve got me scratching my head wondering if I’ve ever eaten a kumquat before. It’s embarrassing how many things I’ve never had while I’ve been busy eating chocolates…

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:21 #

      I had never had them before this winter. Probably because I’m also normally too busy noshing on chocolate!

  9. leaf (the indolent cook) 2014/04/22 at 10:09 #

    Kumquats are so cute and tasty. Gorgeous marmalade, gorgeous linzertorte, gorgeous Beata. x

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:22 #

      Gorgeous thanks to you!

  10. erin @ yummy supper 2014/04/22 at 12:24 #

    Emma, your new “alarm” system, sounds like a bit of a bummer. Who wants a siren out in the peaceful woods?!
    But I’m so digging your linzertorte – I’m a pistachio fiend and total fan of kumquats. (We actually have a little kumquat tree right outside the kitchen door.)
    I hope spring is coming your way soon.
    xoxo
    E

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:23 #

      A little kumquat tree! Your yard just keeps getting better and better in my mind, it sounds so damn bucolic !

      Spring is finding its way to us slloowwwwwly:)

  11. hungryandfrozen 2014/04/28 at 16:54 #

    Wait, so how do you pronounce siren? I’m pretty sure I say it sy-reen too!
    I have never had kumquats before and now I want them so badly. Good luck getting to grips with this charming alarm system!

    • emma 2014/04/29 at 15:25 #

      In the US it’s pronounced sy-rin. I’m excited to hear that sy-reen is an actual pronunciation elsewhere, though of course that gives a bit more credibility to these crazy electricians!

      Charming Alarming, that’s what they call me.

  12. Amy 2014/05/07 at 10:18 #

    I’ve always wanted to buy kumquats but never knew what I was supposed to do with them. But this linzertorte sounds perfect!

  13. Mary at (formerly) n00bcakes 2014/07/15 at 11:11 #

    I’ve never had a kumquat before! It always seemed to me like they were some sort of super-exotic, not-to-be-easily-found fruit ’round my parts…but then I’ve never *actively* looked for them, so how would I really know?

    Also, “sy-reen” makes me think of Stephen King and his perpetually northeastern-located books. Love it. :D

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,465 other followers

