bacon cinnamon roll cookies

28 Mar

bacon cinnamon roll cookies

The word bacon used to strike fear into my heart. Not positive terror like the words pork chop, nor definite disinterest like hot dog, nor middling boredom like potato chips. Just good old fashioned fear. The announcement that BLTs were for dinner made me feel nauseous. Forget about a delicious fatty weekend breakfast – or breakfeast, more like it. My mum tried to trick me into thinking turkey bacon was the more awesome counterpart to the bacon I found gross and unpalatable (because less sodium and fewer calories equals better taste…?), forgetting that Thanksgiving turkey was #1 on my Foods Most Unwanted list.

Life as a picky eater has been a long and difficult road. While my journey isn’t quite over, my 20s has been all about coming to terms with the endless list of foods that I heretofore wrote off without a second thought. Chicken. Cookies. Cake. Butter on pancakes. Butter on toast. Hamburgers. Steak. Wild rice. Potatoes. Milk. Several kinds of cheese. Broccoli and cauliflower. And of course, the aforementioned bacon.

The day that I fell in love with bacon was the best day in the world.

bacon cinnamon roll cookies

It was Spring Semester 2008, my Junior year in college. Near the end of every scholastic year, the club that I was most involved with on campus held a blowout all-day celebration, beginning with a pancake breakfast, continuing on with timbersports (read: wannabe lumberjacks throwing axes, pushing about logs, spitting tobacco), and ending with a formal banquet. The pancake breakfast has long been cooked and served by the department faculty, in a delightful twist of duty. Backtracking to 2008, I had just taken over as Forestry Club president, having been elected upon an Obama spin-off campaign slogan of “Yes Tree Can!” My comparatively-painless presidential duties included overseeing the pancake breakfast. However, I had a Remote Sensing lecture that overlapped with a good portion of the breakfast.

And here is where I tell you that up until that day, I had never cut class. Not once. Sure, I had been absent for each and every class since the dawn of time for a variety of reasons, but each and every one was premeditated, and often based on some sort of illness. It had never even occurred to me to skip class. The closest I got was skipping a pep rally in high school (before my school outlawed pep rallies), and even then, I felt my blood pressure increase alarmingly and damn, but I felt guilty.

So here I am, 2008, crossing the threshold into my lecture, resigned that I will miss out on my first elected duty, when some mental switch flips. My eyebrows raise in alarm as my feet halt, then backtrack, and finally turn around and exit the classroom. I make my way to the pancake breakfast, feeling ridiculously giddy and also a mite peckish. The world suddenly seems more colorful, more alive. My senses are heightened, and all of a sudden, I smell something. Something savory, and fatty, and unmistakably caloric. I smell bacon. I come face to face with it. It sits there, sparkling with grease. I sidle up next to it, and take one piece. I nibble it. I grab a second piece, and chomp it down. I take a third, and a fourth, and devour them.

I must have eaten 20 pieces of bacon that morning. They tasted like freedom.

_____________

BaconBadge14-v2

_____________

Enter Bacon Week 2014. My pal Mary has been doing this Clogged Artery Week for a few years now, and I’ve enjoyed playing along, given that I came to my senses in 2008 and realized what’s up. In case you missed my lengthy preamble, it’s bacon, you guys. In 2012, I contributed Potato Bacon Breakfast Churros served in the world’s cutest bowl made of bacon. And last year, sticking with a theme of cuteness+calory overload, it was Deep Fried Waffles with Maple Bacon Buttercream served in ‘bacon muffinettes.’

This year I went with something a little easier to throw together, though equal in tastiness. A few weeks back I had sketched out several dessert ideas that seemed ingenious to my simple mind. One was for these bacon cinnamon roll cookies. About ten minutes after that life-altering moment, literally, I was cruising the internet and saw like nine different recipes for cinnamon roll cookies just like these. So while I may not be unique or on top of trends, at least I have bacon.

Bacon Cinnamon Roll Cookies

Will yield 24-28 cookies

++Ingredients:++

For the dough:
1/2 c. powdered sugar
3/4 c. unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks)
1 tbsp bacon fat
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 c. flour

For the filling:
1/4 c. granulated sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
5 strips candied bacon (Yummy Supper’s recipe will yield 8 strips, a perfect baking use: mouth use ratio)
1/2 tsp water

++Directions:++

In a mixing bowl, beat together the sugar, butter, bacon fat, salt and vanilla until light and fluffy, 2-4 minutes. Add in the flour and mix until the dough comes together. On a large piece of parchment paper or plastic wrap, flatten dough. Cover with a second large sheet of parchment or plastic wrap, and roll out into a 9 x 14″ rectangle. Freeze on a baking sheet until well chilled, 20 minutes.

In a food processor, grind the sugar and cinnamon together. Add in candied bacon, and pulse until combined and fine. Add 1/2 tsp water if mixture is too dry.

Remove dough from freezer and allow to warm up for 2-5 minutes. Slather dough with bacon mixture, evenly coating the dough’s surface. Starting with a long edge roll the dough carefully into a log, using the bottom piece of plastic wrap to encourage the log to roll. Smooth out any cracks that develop in the dough as you roll. Once in a log, roll back and forth over the seam several times to seal it. Re-wrap in plastic wrap or parchment and freeze until firm, 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350F. Line 2 cookies sheets with parchment paper. Use a trustworthy knife to cut the log into just-under-1/2-inch slices. Transfer cookies to baking sheets and bake 12 to 15 minutes until golden brown on the undersides and edges. Remove from oven, and cool on wire racks.

bacon cinnamon roll cookies

It’s been an exciting few weeks! I got the chance to interact with a veneer (log) buyer, who taught me quite a bit about log valuation and what I can look for to maximize my wood utilization and timber values.

After a year of silence, we got a new record player up and running, for a total cost of 0 dollars. Now I can listen to Steely Dan and Morris Day each and every day, and my days are bright and sunny (though my vocabulary has seemingly suffered).

And it truly is sunny here from time to time, though we continue to be pummeled by snow. We managed to escape down to New Hampshire for a work conference this week, where we spent a few nights IN A CASTLE.

castle winter veneer

17 Responses to “bacon cinnamon roll cookies”

  1. sue/the view from great island 2014/03/28 at 15:34 #

    Wow, this is a mind blowing idea!! I can’t believe you even used bacon fat in the cookie dough :)

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 09:56 #

      Once you go fat, you never go back ! :)

  2. Mum 2014/03/28 at 19:25 #

    Don’t forget spaghetti and meatballs, meatballs, meatloaf, homemade baked macaroni and cheese, scrambled eggs “with stuff in them”; oh, we had fun, didn’t we?
    Good lookin’ cookies–I’d love to tasted them!

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 10:06 #

      Life in the fast line for the picky eaters of the world.

      Actually, meatloaf has always been pretty much acceptable! Processed meats are my meats of choice.

  3. Mum 2014/03/28 at 19:34 #

    Ooops, a little typo there–I’d love to HAVE tasted them.
    Oh, and don’t forget BARS!

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 10:07 #

      Don’t worry, I knew what you meant. I hear much worse in my day-to-day conversations, and no one ever corrects their poor speech around here.

  4. Sweet Cinnamon 2014/03/28 at 22:21 #

    Oh wow! My husband would die if he saw these!

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 10:08 #

      That sounds bad! :)

  5. Mary at n00bcakes 2014/03/29 at 11:24 #

    Oh man, I am *super* jealous! These cookies turned out just how I was wishing my cinnamon rolls would; a beautiful swirl of bacon in a sweet, yeasty crust. Love the photos, too; I like the colorful, flowery cloth backdrop you’re using.

    Thanks for participating in Bacon Week! It blows my mind you used to dislike bacon (and chicken. and cookies. AND HAMBURGER WAT??), but I’m so glad you toss in a recipe every year – you’re da best! :D

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 10:09 #

      Girl, bacon week isn’t about jealousy, it’s about love and friendship and sharing and caring!

      I’m still iffy on chicken and hamburgers. But I’ve cleared jumped on board the cookie train. CHOO CHOO!

  6. Hannah 2014/03/29 at 14:22 #

    The past year for me has been a lengthy, and exciting, game of Retry All The Things!!!!! To Find Out What We Legitimately Like And Don’t Like!!!!

    (We, of course, being my brain and my tum and my tastebuds.)

    I am finding that almost everything I’d stupidly convinced myself I didn’t like, I actually do, except when it comes to textural things. So, gloopy things? Still out. Butter? Bread? Pancakes? ALL AMAZING. I still don’t love bacon, but I do *like* American style crispy shattering bacon. It’ll take another decade, probably, before the full extent of my bacon scarring as a teenage waitress/breakfast chef wear away. A decade, or a batch of these cookies…. *wiggles eyebrows*

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 10:11 #

      My tum and my brain and my tastebuds are so confused by all my newfound food interests. Just this weekend, I learned that I didn’t actually hate cottage cheese. BUT THE TEXTURE IS SO WEIRD I WANT TO KEEP HATING IT FOR THAT REASON ALONE.

      I prefer my bacon soft and ooooooozy.

      Cookies.

      • Hannah 2014/03/31 at 14:51 #

        Then you need to move to Australia, where all bacon is the thick juicy kind (nb: NOT like Canadian bacon, which is ham).

  7. movita beaucoup 2014/03/30 at 16:09 #

    I like to read your posts on Sundays, because Sundays are the bestest, and should be reserved for the bestest things.

    Your list of shunned foods made me so sad. Until I got to the part about you eating 20 strips of bacon, and then I felt pretty good.

    The bacon cookies helped.

    • emma 2014/03/31 at 10:13 #

      I like Saturdays better than Sundays, because Sundays mean I have to go to the grocery store to get my miserable groceries to haul into the woods with me for the week, and Sunday means my time at home with kitty and the-guy-who-likes-bikes is coming to a close. Sundays are still Fundays though.

      I’ve remembered about 35 more things I should have added to that list.

  8. erin @ yummy supper 2014/04/01 at 13:00 #

    Whaaaa…. bacon in cinnamon rolls? Emma you are a total bad ass. It’s official;)
    xoxo
    E

  9. Monica 2014/04/02 at 12:26 #

    I thought I was a picky eater as a kid! I’m glad you came around to bacon. For me, I loved it so much in my teens and 20’s that I took a bit of a break. Now, I’m back to enjoying it and my son could eat it everyday, at all 3 meals. These cookies blow my mind a little bit. You see so many bacon-y things but this is something else! Great job.

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,124 other followers

