blueberry mascarpone custard ice cream

17 Sep

rasps

Note: Given that I wrote these words last month, their memory is extra sweet. What I wouldn’t give for some plump fresh berries!

Raspberries are in full swing here. I simply cannot pass by a raspberry bush without grabbing a few of those sweet morsels. Raspberry bushes grow well in sunlit compacted soils, such as one might find lining roads and old log landings, so it’s a given that a heck of a lot of raspberries cross my path. And I go crazy for them, day after day. Ignoring plump ripe raspberries is like wishing summer away, which is something I would never do. I see each berry that I pick as giving thanks to the splendor of the world around me, and thanks for summer’s plentiful bounty. Is there a small thing that you do to savor the season and make the most of each day? I’d love to hear about the raspberry equivalent in your life.

But meanwhile, this post isn’t about raspberries.

blueberry mascarpone custard ice cream

This post is about blueberries.

I’ve made it my life’s mission to 1) listen to New Kids on the Block’s slammin’ album ’10’ at least once per day, and 2) come up with as many tasty blueberry recipes as possible. I’m still working on my hefty score from last year, and while I thought this was going to be the recipe to wipe my stash clean, I somehow still have several pounds in my freezer.

As I will proudly proclaim if you ever ask me (though you won’t), I don’t own an ice cream maker. I don’t find it a useful:space taken up in the kitchen ratioed gadget, given that I can create wonderful custard ice creams that I can then proceed to let chill on their own in the freezer. I do dream of the day when I can freeze my way through my copy of Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams At Home (finally, a cookbook I actually own… yet most recipes being ones I can currently only ponder), but for now, custard ice cream is the height of splendor at my home.

A whole tub of mascarpone has been added into this ice cream’s simple custard base, and the decadence is nearly outlandish. Smooth, creamy, and rich, each spoonful is akin to skiing down a mountain of mascarpone, skis cutting into the terrain and sweeping up great softly-cheesy waves of ambrosial delight.

If you know of a mountain where I can indeed ski across cheese, please contact me immediately.

blueberry mascarpone custard ice cream

Blueberry Mascarpone Custard Ice Cream

(Blueberry Saucy adapted from aforementioned Jeni’s)

Makes 1 delightfully large tub-full

For the Blueberry Saucy:

3 c. blueberries
Scant 1 1/2 c. sugar

Cook blueberries and sugar in a medium saucepan over medium heat, bringing to a boil. Reduce heat to low, and simmer, stirring frequently, for 8-10 minutes until the sauce has thickened somewhat. If you use wild blueberries, the thickenage will not be terribly apparent, but fear not, the sauce will thicken. Remove from heat and let cool.

For the Mascarpone Custard Ice Cream:

2 c. heavy cream
1 c. whole milk
4-8 egg yolks, depending on how you feel about wasting/using egg whites
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
Hearty pinch of salt
1 tub mascarpone (8 oz.)

In a large bowl, whisk together egg yolks and sugars. Set aside.

In a saucepan, combine the cream and milk and heat gently until the mixture is approaching the frothy-boil stage but not boiling. Remove the pan from heat, and ever so slowly, pour the milk mixture into the egg mixture in a small but steady stream, whilst furiously whisking to avoid scrambling your eggs. Return to saucepan, and constantly stirring, cook over low heat until the mixture thickens up. This will take at least ten minutes, and may take as long as twenty, depending on your heat level and stirrage.

Remove from heat, and allow to cool at least ten minutes, until it is still hot, yet you can touch the mixture without injury. Add the tub of mascarpone, mixing in until it is melted.

In a freeer-proof container, alternate layers of the custard with layers of the blueberry sauce. Freeze (no stirring!) until, you guessed it, frozen.

016joepyestorm old chanterelle beach

After what feels like months of rain, because it has been, we have finally been gifted with a day or two of sunshine.

Late summer flowers are decaying, like the joe-pye weed you see up above. That’s Joe-Pye named after a mythical Indian who once upon-a cured a man’s typhus by making him perspire profusely due to a tea made from this plant, not Josie Pye, the perenially-unpleasant cheater from Avonlea.

I’m seen a lot of inclement weather, picked more than my fair share of wild mushrooms, and I even (finally) got to go to the beach. Summer was wonderful…. bring on autumn!

56 Responses to “blueberry mascarpone custard ice cream”

  1. Mum 2013/09/17 at 13:17 #

    Oh, for some fresh blueberries to try your recipe…I suppose that it would work with frozen? Oh, yeah, you are working on your “stash”, so those are frozen, eh?(since you are so close to Canada, I thought that it would be alright to use the eh;-) I think that you should search out a photo contest, and submit the beach photo…just like “Summer Shandy”, that one looks exceptional!! (National Geographic seems to be always asking for photos from readers)

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:05 #

      Eh there, these are definitely frozen berries, eh?

      Aww, summer shandy.

      Do you know what these birds are? They were incredible, and all sitting together on the beach and along the fence. I slowly walked towards them until I freaked them out enough, so that they would take flight for me and let me take this picture. They were really fun birds to watch, like the beach equivalent of sparrows.

  2. Hannah 2013/09/17 at 13:29 #

    Would you be skiing across cheese on your way to a HANSON CONCERT?!? I can’t believe you haven’t told stories about that yet. Where did Johnny go?!?

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:07 #

      Our bus skiied across cheese for TWO HOURS just so we could get to a Hanson concert – AND I HAVEN’T EVEN TOLD YOU ABOUT IT YET. Johnny went to go vomit, because he isn’t much of a cheese fan, and it all got to be a bit much for him. Also, this is probably why it says ‘picture unavailable…’ no need to take a picture of the man while he’s down.

  3. Pacific Merchants 2013/09/17 at 13:38 #

    The nice thing about that mascarpone base is that it’ll work amazingly with other seasonal fruits as well. Mascarpone and figs, or apple butter, or even blood oranges!

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:08 #

      Ooh yeah, great thought! The other nice thing is that it tastes soooo gooood:)

    • Bead Charmer Girl 2013/10/01 at 18:06 #

      Good to know!! My mind is whirling with possibilities. Right now Mascarpone & Raspberries is sounding pretty good!

      • Pacific Merchants 2013/10/08 at 19:19 #

        I love mascarpone and figs. They’re even in season right now.

        • Bead Charmer Girl 2013/10/08 at 19:23 #

          You are making me hungry!! I need to focus on making jewelry. I am part of the Porter Street Artists and we have a Fall show on October 19th. 🎨

          • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:30 #

            No figs in northern Maine and not much jewelry either! Good luck with your art show, art is the number one thing I miss now that I live in a small town. Well, maybe I miss good food more, but food is art and art is food, yes?

        • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:28 #

          Not in northern Maine, sadly:/

      • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:28 #

        That DOES sound good!

  4. Amy 2013/09/17 at 14:14 #

    Love that last pic of all the birds! I’m super impressed by this ice cream you made without an ice cream maker…i would think it was icy but it looks really creamy! Love the idea of adding mascarpone. Also, I’m super jealous you have raspberry bushes all around with raspberries that are yours for the taking. I didn’t eat nearly enough berries this summer…

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:10 #

      I ate a decent amount of berries, but I felt like summer never really arrived because we had so much rain and chilly weather. Where my summah at?

      As long as you make an ice cream with a custard base, you can freeze it and get a pretty decently creamy product. It works!

  5. erin @ yummy supper 2013/09/17 at 14:19 #

    Emma, I’m not sure what makes me happiest, that you are listening to New Kids on the Block, taking stunning photos ( instagram?) or making this totally decadent blueberry mascarpone ice cream. You are a badass.

    xoxo
    E

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:11 #

      NKOTB 4EVERRRRRRRRR!

      xxoo

      also yes, Instagram. I’ve been carrying my DSLR around less and less, but only because I ruined two lenses in three years:/

  6. Keren 2013/09/17 at 18:07 #

    What, no mayo in your ice cream? ;)

    I have to say from this end of the world it’s more a matter of Winter was bearable … bring on Spring!

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:12 #

      OOOH, great idea Keren! I’m going to have to work on that one…. challenge accepted:)

      Bring on Sprautumn! (spring/autumn)

  7. sarah 2013/09/17 at 19:05 #

    MMMM, everything you got going on here is scrumptious looking. I LOVE brown sugar in my ice cream. It feels revolutionary and so freakin’ simple. Also, mascarpone on just about anything is the best ever.

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:13 #

      I won’t lie, I love brown sugar in my everything. It’s so hard to keep myself from putting it in my hot cereal in the mornings!

      And yes to mascarpone – so fresh, so delicious!

  8. Amy (Savory Moments) 2013/09/17 at 20:46 #

    I love that you used mascarpone cheese as the ice cream base. So creamy, so yummy – I bet it was perfect!

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:14 #

      Thanks Amy! It was very creamy! Mmm.

  9. Post-reading Posterboy 2013/09/17 at 21:12 #

    Great post and recipe and reflection of a magical (and wet) summer. Happy to see a little WordPress action!

    • emma 2013/09/18 at 06:15 #

      I’d like to think we had a Wet Cold Nearly-Canadian Summer.

  10. shannon 2013/09/18 at 07:58 #

    and now i’m thinking of the raspberry joy equivalent in my own life. i’d say i get a little geeked out each time both summer and fall hit: like when you see that first peach that actually smells like a peach, or when you see the farmers’ markets filling up with pumpkins and squash and it’s slightly colder? i maybe don’t have a specific equivalent, but i DO know that last weekend, the weather broke. it was chilly. i went to the market and i think i caught myself SKIPPING a few times at all the fallish produce. so maybe fall produce in general is my raspberry.
    this ice cream really should have made the first part of this comment: it’s worthy of huge amounts of praise. no ice cream maker? WONDERFUL, because mine shot craps a few months back, i haven’t bothered to replace it yet. i will, but in the meantime, i guess i’ll be purchasing tubs of mascarpone and blueberries and just freezing them without the help of a machine. by the way: cheese in ice cream? NEVER A BAD THING.

    • emma 2013/09/23 at 20:01 #

      I think my fall equivalent is stepping on dead leaves. That crunchy noise? I can’t get enough of it. It makes me want to skip, funnily enough.

      I’d like to think that cheese anywhere is never a bad thing. At this point I’m mostly just stubborn about making ice cream without an ice cream maker, but it’s also quite convenient given that we now live in an apartment the size of a shoe box.

  11. Pamela @ Brooklyn Farm Girl 2013/09/18 at 21:18 #

    The pictures of your ice cream are killing me, can I get a few scoops, please? YUM! Even though it’s chilly right now here, I’m still dreaming of this ice cream!

    • emma 2013/09/23 at 20:03 #

      It’s quite chilly here too, but that doesn’t keep me from jonesing for some ice cream:)

  12. freshne 2013/09/19 at 10:51 #

    What a beautiful and colorful ice cream. I love the recipe!

    • emma 2013/09/23 at 20:04 #

      Thanks El! I appreciate it:)

  13. Silvia 2013/09/21 at 15:24 #

    This looks super tasty.
    (and I do own an ice cream maker… and we use it often. Not often enough (you can’t eat enough ice cream), but often).

    • emma 2013/09/23 at 20:06 #

      No, you can’t eat enough ice cream! Excellent sentiment, I agree wholeheartedly.

  14. Mary at n00bcakes 2013/09/22 at 08:57 #

    I love your blueberry recipes! I used to be a doubter, but I would never doubt your blueberry prowess anymore. I may have to try this recipe out. :)

    And lookit you, thumbing your nose at an ice cream maker! There’s nothing different about the texture without a churn? I ask because I just recently made the decision in my minimalism travels to *not* ditch my ice cream maker…and here you are showing me up and saying “NAY! You need not this machine!” What’s your opinion (if you have one) on churned vs. un-churned ice cream? I’d be very curious.

    • emma 2013/09/23 at 20:14 #

      Never nay say a blueberry recipe! Cmon girl, after the blueberry chili, still you doubted me? I thought we had something special.

      I suppose the texture will never be quite so creamy as with an ice cream maker, and it will potentially be eggier in taste, but when you boil it down (ba-dum CHING), it is still iced cream. And it is creamy. And it is good. And it is not ice crystal-y. NAY! YOU NEED NOT THIS MACHINE! (for this type of ice cream only)

      I tend to love the taste of custard ice cream, perhaps that’s why I haven’t felt the drive to purchase an ice cream maker yet. Someday, I’m sure!

  15. movita beaucoup 2013/09/23 at 07:21 #

    If I don’t have ten pounds of blueberries in my freezer at all times, I start to panic. This ice cream has Bill Beaucoup written all over it – I just know he would love, love, love it.

    Too bad I’m going to make it just for me.

    • emma 2013/09/23 at 20:14 #

      You are not.

      Shouldn’t you be resting?

      • movita beaucoup 2013/09/24 at 07:00 #

        I DO feel quite tired…

        • emma 2013/09/24 at 07:04 #

          You’ve brought this upon yourself, movita. Go cool down with a sack of blueberries.

  16. Sophie James 2013/09/24 at 07:16 #

    Lovely photos and scrumptious looking ice cream. Thanks for sharing. Sophie

    • emma 2013/09/24 at 17:35 #

      Thanks for reading!

  17. leaf (the indolent cook) 2013/09/24 at 11:32 #

    Love how generous you are with the blueberries! And that beach photo is INSANE. Also, maybe I should get back to listening to NKOTB, myself. ;)

    • emma 2013/09/24 at 17:39 #

      Yeah girl, NKOTB only gets hotter with age! Except Danny Wood, he looks about the same.

      Hard not to be generous with the blueberries when they command such a presence in my freezer:)

  18. Adrian Briones (@food_rehab) 2013/09/25 at 09:03 #

    Ermagaad I love your life missions! I can always depend on your for a blueberry fix and now, a NKOTB fix lol!

    • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:31 #

      Yes, you can always always always depend on me for a NKOTB fix:D

  19. hungryandfrozen 2013/10/02 at 14:14 #

    Oh gosh, reading this post makes me just want to eat an entire bowlful of fresh berries with my hands. (And my mouth, of course.) Good luck with the NKOTB mission! And I am going to keep this ice cream in mind for sure, mascarpone is so lush.

    • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:31 #

      I would love to eat an entire bowl of fresh berries, too. But I don’t have any. So I’ll eat spoonfuls of Biscoff instead. It’s sort of an appropriate substitute.

  20. everydayordinarygirl 2013/10/05 at 20:45 #

    I love that you didn’t use an ice cream maker! I don’t have one either, so this recipe is perfect. I’ll have to load up on frozen blueberries on my next trip to TJ’s.

    • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:33 #

      There are lots of great recipes for no-churn ice cream, I am such a fan. I especially love a regular ol’ chocolate custard ice cream. So perfect and satisfying!

  21. gypsymoonsilverspoon 2013/10/08 at 16:23 #

    these photos are so whimsical, I’m so glad I found your blog!

    • emma 2013/10/08 at 19:33 #

      Hee! I strive for a bit of whimsy every day. Glad you found me:)

  22. Ellie 2013/10/22 at 17:47 #

    I heard Breckenridge has some pretty cheesy mountains… Hey! I have an idea! You should come and ski them ;)

  23. miriam 2014/07/02 at 14:42 #

    I see salt mentioned in the ingredient list, but not the directions. Am I missing it?

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,052 other followers

