olive oil + candied meyer lemon madeleines

30 Apr

olive oil + candied meyer lemon madeleines

Have the Meyer lemons disappeared from your local grocery store? Maybe I still have access to them because they’re considered too culinarily exotic where I live, and so no one buys them. Or maybe they’re still abundantly for sale across the country, and I just know nothing. Regardless, I’m thankful for the continued opportunity to enjoy these darling gems.

I decided to candy Meyer lemon slices, which resulted in the decadent syrup you see draped suggestively across these madeleines. The syrup – oh, how lovely it is. Sweet, tart, floral, citrus, herby; all come together under this bold orange-yellow banner of deliciousness. The chopped-up candied slices were incorporated into a basic madeleine batter, along with enough olive oil to provide a punchy kick of flavor. If a bold and flavorful dessert (or snack… or breakfast) is what you’re looking for, these are your cakelets.

mother-of-millions

Next question. Have you ever had a mother-of-millions houseplant? No? Bear with me. Yes? Party on.

In your home, has it multiplied at a phenomenal rate, to the point that you worry it might take over the room in which it lives? Has the plant’s behavior come to annoy you so much that just the mention of its name sends a shiver down your spine? Do you wish you could do more to warn others about the dangers of letting this beast into your house? If you answered yes to one or more of the above, I bet that you and my mum would get along well; you have a common enemy. Hi Mum!

I on the other hand love my weird little mother-of-millions. She’s actually at most only been an approximate mother-of-two-to-three-dozen, and I think she’s cute. I was given a little slip of this plant back in high school (where has the time gone?) maybe nine years ago, and I have nursed it along through alternating stages of growth and decay. Until two months ago, though, I had never seen it try to flower.

I read somewhere that if you let your plant flower, it may die. But I mean, is it really possible to kill this plant? My mum would shake her head and respond vehemently in the negative. I’m not sure, but I’ve been waiting patiently now for many weeks, watching the flower buds grow larger and droopier. Finally, over the weekend, I noticed that the flowers had opened. Aren’t they sweet? There’s something so impermanent and special about a houseplant flowering that I couldn’t help but memorialize it here.

candied meyer lemons

Final question. How fast can you eat these? Probably not as fast as me. Three at a time, dawg. Three at a time.

Olive Oil + Candied Meyer Lemon Madeleines {recipe by myself}

Makes 24

++Ingredients:++

1/2 c. unsalted butter + 1 tbsp for madeleine tins
3/4 c. flour + plus more for dusting tins
2 tbsp reserved candied Meyer lemon syrup, plus more for glazing
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. almonds
3/4 tsp baking powder
3 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1-2 candied Meyer lemons (follow this recipe to candy your lemons – 2 Meyers to one regular lemon), chopped up into fine pieces

++Directions:++

Melt 1 tbsp of butter and brush into two regular-sized madeleine tins. Cool one minute, then sprinkle flour into each mold. Tap in each direction to evenly coat, then tap out extra. Set aside.

Melt butter in small bowl or saucepan with candied Meyer lemon syrup. Mix in sugar. Set aside, let cool.

In a food processor, grind almonds (note: I don’t blanche my almonds – I like them as is. If, however, you’d prefer blanched almonds, do that ahead of time). Add flour and baking powder, and process until mixed.

In a large bowl, whisk eggs and salt for three to five minutes until well-frothed. Whisk in half of flour mixture. Add the butter/lemon syrup mixture. Switch to a spatula, and fold in candied Meyer lemon pieces. Fold in the remaining flour.

Transfer batter into a pastry bag, making sure that the tip is large enough to allow almond chunks to pass through. Pipe batter into tins, making sure not to overfill: 2/3 to 3/4 full should be plenty. Alternatively, spoon batter into molds (my method of choice).

Chill tins in the fridge for two hours, or preferably in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Bake tins for 10 – 16 minutes, depending on how cold (frozen) they got. Rotate tins once. My nonstick tin takes less time to bake than my tin tin: watch your madeleines bake carefully! When the edges turn golden brown, and the center bumps appear cooked (the change is noticeable if you watch them bake), remove pan from the oven. Check to make sure they are cooked through. Quickly invert onto a cooling rack, or pry out with a spoon or knife.

Dip madeleines in reserved candied Meyer lemon syrup, and allow to cool slightly. Serve warm, or at room temperature.

olive oil + candied meyer lemon madeleines

30 Responses to “olive oil + candied meyer lemon madeleines”

  1. movita beaucoup 2013/04/30 at 06:30 #

    The answers to the quiz are:

    1. Meyer lemons don’t really show their face around these here parts, so I couldn’t tell you.

    2. No, I have never had a mother-of-millions houseplant. THEY SOUND AWESOME.

    3. Four at a time. I am known for my eating skillz.

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:23 #

      1. Sad face.
      2. True face! They are!
      3. Fat face.

  2. Keren 2013/04/30 at 06:43 #

    Our lemon tree has just started giving us ripe lemons again … it’s only a few months since it stopped so I’m actually wondering if they’re out of season. Maybe I should find out :)

    That flower looks gorgeous, if you can keep one of them around to smile at then you definitely should.

    P.S. Is this, like, only the second madeleine recipe you’ve posted or have I not been paying attention.

    Oh, and I do believe I will use our lemons to give this a try. It sounds a lot like a lemon cake that my mum used to make (that The Sparky loves, so that’s gotta be a good start right?).

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:28 #

      I think this is my fourth madeleine recipe since my blog’s inception, but perhaps only the second since you began reading?

      Ah, to have a lemon tree. Ah, to not have to buy a large bag of Meyer lemons, and then wonder what to do with the rest before they go bad (and then go overboard and slow-cook a chicken with all the remaining lemons). Ah, to have produce that can come to fruition in the ‘off-season.’

      I’m probably going to pinch off the flowers and re-pot the mother-of-millions, because I definitely don’t want her to die.

      I would recommend maybe only simmering your candied lemon slices for 50 minutes if you make this…. by an hour, the syrup once cooled gets almost too hard for my liking. It’s not really hard by any means, but it’s noticeable. Regardless, the chopped-up bits will meld nicely into the baked cake, and won’t be too chewy. Let me know if you make these! This is my favorite recipe that I’ve made in some time:)

  3. Mary at n00bcakes 2013/04/30 at 08:32 #

    Ah, madeleines again! One of these days I will eventually break down and buy a madeleine pan and try one of your many recipes, all of which, I’m sure are fantastic and amazing. :D Also…crap I forgot to try meyer lemons this year. >.>

    I actually haven’t even heard of the “mother of millions” plant…I’m not sure where I’ve been! I do love houseplants, though unfortunately my apartment gets so little light they can be tough to keep alive. All my plants have to be low-light, and they all live on my porch/balcony where they have the highest likelihood of not-dying (despite my best efforts). Huzzah to your little flowering plant! I hope it lives!

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:34 #

      No madeleine pan needed, Mary! You could make these little muffins or something else quaint:) I would hands-down say this is my favorite madeleine recipe ever (so far), so make this one, if you get a chance. Though I bet regular lemons just won’t be quite the same…

      I love houseplants too. When we moved last time, it was winter, and I killed so many of them, including a giant hibiscus and a fig tree:( So, I know the struggle to keep them alive. I’ve been nursing them back from the brink ever since then, and that was over a year ago. I hope your plants live too!

  4. Adrian Briones (@food_rehab) 2013/04/30 at 10:01 #

    Oh man…you’ve just taken madeleines to a whole new level. You’re #inittowinit !!!! OK, that’s just me watching too much American Idol…

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:36 #

      Hehe. Yeehaw, you best be-lieve it! Although I think I can take a breather now, because these cakes have definitely won it:)

  5. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe 2013/04/30 at 10:10 #

    OMG those candied lemons! Yes, I would have to resist eating that entire plate. That glaze is just too beautiful, I’d have dunked the whole madeleine in it and had to fish it out with a fork which I would promptly eat it off of. I’m still waist-deep in meyer lemons here, planning a very special dessert with them possibly later this week.

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:39 #

      I ate more than my fair share of those candied lemons:) I was a bit in awe of the glaze, I wished briefly that ‘war paint’ was more socially acceptable, in which case I’d paint myself with this stuff.

      Oooh, special meyer lemon dessert! Can’t wait to see what you’ve got up your sleeve (meyer lemon + bacon??)!

  6. frugalfeeding 2013/04/30 at 15:05 #

    What a fantastic way to make medeleines – the dipping I mean. Yummy! Also, amazing colours and spectacular photography!

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:40 #

      Thank you! It was fantastic, but sadly, they’re all gone…. wah wahhh :/

  7. Brianne 2013/04/30 at 17:20 #

    The plastic bags that the Meyers come in these days freaks me out. They used to come in mesh bags, like all the other citrus. Why sell fruit in plastic bags? I am surprised to see them at the store still. I did not partake in their goodness this winter; I was too busy eating all the blood oranges I could get my hands on. Also: Cuties. The Cuties are gone now, and I am devastated. But it’s going to be summer soon, and there will be lots of other fruit.

    I love this recipe. Olive oil and citrus cakes are the bomb. I need a dang madeleine pan, yo! Dang.

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:44 #

      I KNOW! WTF with the plastic, mate? That was exactly what I was wondering last weekend. I didn’t eat as many Moros this year as I did last year, but several of the ones I bought were not top-notch delicious. So I mixed and matched my citrus, which is always a good thing. What I meant to buy but didn’t were pommelos, I came up with a recipe for them last year, but then missed my chance to purchase them. Missed my chance again this year, oops.

      Olive oil and citrus cakes ARE the bomb! I can’t get enough of them.

      PS they sell madeleine pans at Marden’s. I don’t know how quality they are, but it sure beats the $20-$30/pan price tag at fancy kitchen stores.

  8. Amy (Savory Moments) 2013/04/30 at 19:41 #

    These look so sticky and yummy! I love the candied Meyer lemons photo. I bet these are quite delicious.

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:49 #

      They are! They are! I want to shout it from the rooftops! :)

  9. Hannah 2013/04/30 at 20:25 #

    Your mother of millions plant sounds like the rosemary bush in my parents’ garden, which for as long as I’ve known it (15 years) has been trying to take over the world.

    Candied meyer lemon sounds phenomenal.

    You are phenomenal.

    • emma 2013/05/01 at 06:50 #

      Sounds like a full-time job, keeping that rosemary bush in control. But… it’s just so worth it, isn’t it? What would life be without controlling, manipulative plants?

      Awwww. Squishy. YOU!

  10. shannon 2013/05/01 at 08:36 #

    smart to candy the Meyers while you had them! I guess in other parts of our fair country they have Meyers all the time. In my part, you see them for like, a week and a half in the stores around January, then poof: gone again. Maybe i’m not looking hard enough, or going to specialty stores, but as far as i can tell, their “season” in midwest is extremely short.
    “if you let it flower, it may die…” that was deep for me. mostly because i read this at the exact moment i was looking up phone numbers to potential preschools for Stella. Also, it was around the time i had a medium breakdown about how she was just this tiny baby and now i’m looking at preschools. so the phrase “if you let it flower, it may die” had some serious life ramifications. *ouch* (not die in a literal sense, but more like if you let something grow and maybe blossom outside your care, they may be sad for a bit, and that will be hard, but then they may love it, which could be potentially harder, if only for me.) i read too much into this, obviously. but i’m stuck on it now. :)

    • emma 2013/05/02 at 09:19 #

      I’m glad that my thoughts touched something inside of you, Shannon. I know I’m a pretty silly individual, but I was indeed trying to be somewhat self-reflective with my mention of this plant’s life cycle. As self-reflective as one can get on a post about DELICIOUS CAKE, that is.

      Know that Stella will continue to be your flower, and she will grow into a radiant bloom of wonder and delight! I know it’s bittersweet, but while these first few years are magical, those in the future hold so much promise – think of it:)

  11. shannon 2013/05/01 at 08:38 #

    also, you reminded me i need to get a madeleine pan. that and a popover pan i keep eyeing. also, probably some flat-sided tart pans. OH the baking supplies i have zero room for.

    • emma 2013/05/02 at 09:20 #

      I need a popover pan! And tart pans of all shapes and sizes! Oh the baking supplies I have zero time for.

  12. Mum 2013/05/01 at 16:36 #

    Beautiful, gorgeous cakes! The flower is pretty too–how marvelous it is when our green house plants put out flowers:) Your plant must be happy, too. I’ve not heard about plants dying after flowering, but with all of those babies on that plant, I’d say that it will never die!

    • emma 2013/05/02 at 08:55 #

      Mumsy mumsy mumsy! Isn’t it nice how pretty the mother-of-millions can be when it’s not being an attention-grabbing multiplier? Such sweet little flowers, I have been super excited to see them bloom.

      I might just have to start over again, if the plant begins to decline after flowering. It’s the plant that will not die (maybe)!

  13. leaf (the indolent cook) 2013/05/03 at 10:07 #

    I don’t see Meyer lemons around here very often, unfortunately. Maybe I need to look harder. The madeleines look wonderful, I think I’d try to eat them slowly, one at a time, to properly savour them, but that may be wishful thinking…

    • emma 2013/05/08 at 18:31 #

      That is unfortunate, because for all the hype they get, I find them to be equally marvelous.

      Oh man, I ate these so quickly. It might not have helped that I ate a pile shortly after making them and thus had only three to bring with me for the week!

  14. Rosie @ Blueberry Kitchen 2013/05/03 at 12:08 #

    Your madeleines look amazing, I love the idea of the lemon syrup! Sadly I haven’t come across Meyer lemons yet in the UK, I will be so excited if I do!

    • emma 2013/05/08 at 18:32 #

      Thanks Rosie! These were incredible, and the syrup made all the difference.

      I too will be excited for you if you find some Meyers:)

  15. hungryandfrozen 2013/05/09 at 15:25 #

    Alas, I cannot keep any plant alive for long (apart from the occasional potted herb which will keep going for a few weeks) but I love the mother-of-millions name – makes you sound like Khaleesi, mother of dragons, in Game of Thrones!

    Thanks for reminding me of my long-neglected madeleine tin in one of the kitchen draws and how I now long to make madeleines.

  16. kale 2013/05/13 at 16:03 #

    madeleines always make me think of the Friends episode where Freddie Prinze Jr. guest starred as the male nanny and made Ross feel threatened by his ability to bake delicate French cookies. ….ah, good times.
    I’d hire you to make me these day in, day out!

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,703 other followers

