blood orange + meyer lemon sorbet

11 Feb

There is something so special about the taste of Meyer lemons… they are so herby and fresh and incredible. And there is something equally special about blood oranges; their color reminiscent of a brilliant gem, they easily light up any dish with a peppy burst.

When I think about winter citrus, I often find myself wishing for a strong hit of it…. while also wishing for said hit to be sweet. Helloooo, sorbet.

The nearest grocery store carrying these wintry delicacies is a two hour drive away from my weekday forest dwelling, but thankfully, it’s also in the town where I still technically reside. I thought about this treat all of last week, and couldn’t wait to pick up the citrus and get sorbeting. And lo! It was delicious.

blood orange + meyer lemon sorbet

I don’t have any of this sorbet with me here in the woods, but I am already looking forward to having some on Friday afternoon. Zingy and sweet and unexpectedly deep in flavor, this citrus ice reminds me not a little bit of rosemary, hence the leggy garnish courtesy of my still-alive herb planter from last summer.

Speaking of the woods, I would really love to do so. I would love to tell you all about my job, and why it means so much to me, and why I think it is one of the most important professions in the world (I am, of course, a bit biased). But before I do that, I’m kind of curious to know your initial impressions of what it is, exactly, that I do.

If you know me in real life, you may or may not know. But if I only know you online, I would very much love to hear a) what the words ‘forestry’ or ‘forest management’ mean to you, and b) your impression of what it is that I do as a ‘forester.’ Your input will help, so thank you. And thank you, all of you, for your support of my last post. I was humbled and appreciative to know of all the good vibes coming my way from your various parts of the globe.

Hey, one cool thing that my job entails? Finding old rusty abandoned trucks. Hopefully this isn’t a sign of things to come for my shiny Chevy.

old chevy old chevy DSC03984old chevy

Blood Orange + Meyer Lemon Sorbet {recipe by myself}

Makes 4 to 4.5 c. of sorbet

++Ingredients++

1 c. water
1 c. sugar
4 blood oranges
7 Meyer lemons

++Directions:++

In a saucepan, bring water and sugar to a boil, stirring until mixture is fully dissolved. Remove from heat.

With a citrus reamer, juice blood oranges and lemons. Pour through a strainer into the water-sugar simple syrup. Mix until combined.

Pour into a freezer safe container, and cover well. Chill in a cold freezer until solid, stirring up on occasion to homogenize. Enjoy.

DSC04050

Join me soon for some snapshots of my enchanted woodland abode.

Meanwhile, happy winter citrusing to those of you in the Northern Hemisphere!

26 Responses to “blood orange + meyer lemon sorbet”

  1. cheezyk 2013/02/11 at 21:15 #

    I can’t believe you spent a week working in the snow thinking about making sorbet! That would be about the furthest thing from my mind while I was freezing.

    As for what you do … you walk around in the snow taking photos don’t you? ;) Seriously though, I would have thought forestry had something to do with keeping an eye on what was happening with the native flora and fauna and working out how to keep things in good balance.

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:08 #

      I’m actually quite warm while working, as long as it’s nice and cold out. The warmer it gets, the wetter the snow gets, and that’s when I start to get a bit chilly. Like this week, it was pretty warm, so I got sopping wet – brr!

      I sure love me some native flora and fauna, but you know it, I just wander around and take pictures;)

  2. Brianne 2013/02/11 at 22:11 #

    Our rosemary is leggy as all get out. It’s like 2 feet tall! We bought a chive plant recently, but the cat ate off all the tops, so that’s not really a thing anymore. But you know I’m all up on the blood oranges!

    Am I exempt from answering your forestry question because I know you in real life? Perhaps because I, too, have an MS degree in Forest Resources? I feel like I should give it a shot, since I did want to be a forester once: You serve as the go-between for loggers and the firm you work for; writing management plans for forestland and making sure the loggers carry out those plans appropriately. Management plans involve cutting trees (it’s true, trees gotta be cut) to a) make a profit and b) maintain a healthy forest; striking a balance there can be kind of difficult. Something like that? I can’t wait to hear more about the new gig!

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:09 #

      Oh Brianne! I almost hid your comment for awhile, in case it influenced others’ responses:D

      I’m so sad about your not-a-thing chive plant. You’ve got to grow your cat some cat grass! Nom nom nom.

      Can’t wait to talk more about my new gig!

  3. hungryandfrozen 2013/02/12 at 04:45 #

    Ohhh this looks wonderful. I feel instantly thirsty thinking about all that juicy bright citrus fruit!

    To be honest when I think of the word forestry I think of cutting down trees (which, if I’m honest, makes me think more about back-breakingly hard hot sweaty work than it does about the environment…oops.)

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:11 #

      I’m very glad you were honest, and that’s what I was hoping to hear. Not because it’s what I do, but because it’s one of the most common perceptions of what I do!

      Back-breakingly hard hot sweaty work sure calls for some thirst-quenching citrus sorbet, no?

  4. sarah 2013/02/12 at 08:29 #

    Hmm. I actually don’t think I ever thought about this. Ok, this is what I THINK you do just from brief encounters, friends who live in the forest, and the forester kids at NAU.

    I think a forest may spend some time in a fire tower watching. Perhaps has something to do with the logging industry – making sure standards and rules are kept. Create and manage reforestation plantings. When I used to climb and we’d check in at the forestry office they would warn us any dangerous rock happenings, tell us what trails to stay off of (for reparation) and let us know where people already were headed. I’m sure they are continually walking the area to manage this information.
    I also have a friend who is a professional climber and lives in Estes Park. He sometimes aids the foresters office up there when a stupid hunter kills a deer they can’t get down the mountain. I guess it’s a very busy season and the foresters are spread thin. I hope you don’t have to aid stupid hunters.

    Lab work maybe?

    Also this sorbet looks delicious! I have a meyer tree in my yard. It’s a bit upset at the frost we had so my lemons are done. I’ve harvested all I can but my freezer and friends are full of lemons. Next year perhaps I should send you a box!!

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:15 #

      OH NO! NAU! My sworn enemies!!!….. at forestry quiz bowl :D

      Thank you for your insight and ideas on what it is that I do – you have lots of good thoughts. And you used to climb? How cool! No more?

      Oh yes, your little meyer lemon tree. I believe you have named it, yes? So sweet, but less sweet that you had frost and that halted your harvest. Oh my gosh, how much would I love a box of lemons?!????! So much!

  5. leaf (the indolent cook) 2013/02/12 at 08:58 #

    Oh citrussy wonderfulness!

    So I hope I’m not showing off my ignorance here, but when I think of forestry or forest management, I think of someone who takes care of the forest, keeps an eye out for hazards or anything that goes against conservation laws, etc and liaises with the appropriate authorities in regards to any hanky-panky.

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:16 #

      Oh boy, I hope I don’t come across too much hanky-panky in the woods! I’d have to put my serious face on and stop being a jokester:)

  6. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe 2013/02/12 at 09:31 #

    What a gorgeous color! I’m such a fan of citrus fruits, but I always crave them in the summer and completely forget to eat oranges at their peak.

    I’ll admit I don’t really know what a forester does. I imagine you cataloging old growth trees, watching for aberrations in animal behavior, and keeping an eye out for damage done by human visitors. I would love to hear the real answer to this though.

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:33 #

      I love all citrus too, like crazy. I have to stop myself from eating too much vitamin C or it makes my mouth all sore:/

      Love your thoughts on what I do! I’ll talk more about it next time for sure.

  7. Hannah 2013/02/12 at 14:44 #

    Monty Python. I believe one movie in particular had an accurate portrayal of your job.

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:32 #

      HEY – I do sleep all night and I work all day! You’re right!

  8. Mary at n00bcakes 2013/02/12 at 14:45 #

    Beautiful pictures, as usual! Though I’ve gotta ask – what’s the DEAL with meyer lemons? People go bananas (so to speak) over meyer lemons and I never had any idea why. Why are they so great?

    Hm, now what is it a forester does? My basic impression (from what, I don’t exactly know) is that a forester is someone who keeps tabs on the general health of a forest. Plants, animals, potentially dangerous human encroachment or other environmental hazards (both towards and from the forest), etc. AM I CLOSE??

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:37 #

      OMG like you have never had them? But they are like only available at this one time of year and they cost like $4 for a few of them and so why haven’t you tried them?!?

      Just kidding. But their flavor is really incredible Mary, you should try them out sometime. It’s like if I had added a bunch of herbs into a (plain) lemon sorbet, that’s almost what it tastes like to me. There is just so much depth of flavor, and it’s very lovely.

      You are close, except that I AM THE HUMAN ENCROACHMENT. Well not really, but sort of:)

  9. shannon 2013/02/12 at 17:25 #

    first let me say that finding an entire CAR in the woods is equal parts terrifying and awesome.
    second, HOW on EARTH did you get your sorbet that color it is GORGEOUS. you must have the bloodiest blood oranges ever up there.

    now to the hard part: what do you do, exactly. hmmm. here’s what i imagine you do. you are outdoors almost the entire day. i feel like you keep forests looking and feeling awesome; maybe this is making sure trees are growing well, or that the wildlife populations are as they should be, or that no one is doing anything illegal to/with nature. Or, i suppose, even if it’s not illegal, i suspect you make sure that people aren’t misusing/abusing nature in any way if you can prevent it. I think you wear fur coats and snowshoes right now, and that your job involves lots of physical labor, but also brains and quick thinking. I think you can’t do something like being a forester without having a fierce and intense love and appreciation for nature and the environment, because i think it just must be one of those jobs you can’t phone in; like your heart has to be in it or you suck at it. I think you’re saving the planet a little bit. or a lot.

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:41 #

      Glad someone liked that truck… I was so intrigued by its near-complete disintegration.

      That color is nifty, huh? I noticed that two of my blood oranges were so-so in color, and two of them were very very deep in hue. I almost wondered at first if they had gone bad, but nope, they were just darkly-colored.

      I really hope that when my forests think about me and my management of them, they think “she keeps us feeling awesome!” That would be rad.

      No fur coats! But I am on my third pair of snowshoes….. yep that’s right, I broke another pair. And your comments are so thoughtful and sweet – I really do hope I’m “saving” the planet a little bit, by making it a healthier place in the future!

  10. Sue/the view from great island 2013/02/12 at 20:06 #

    I found you through Shannon’s post on fb—this sorbet looks too pretty to be real, and I love that you can make it without a machine. I’m actually freezing up my first 2013 batch of ice cream right now, what is it about snow that brings out the urge to make ice cream? Glad to have found you!

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:43 #

      Hi Sue, glad to meet you! Not sure what about winter makes me crave very cold things (sounds a bit sadistic, eh?), but it’s true. Hope your first batch of ice cream turned out deeeeliciously:)

  11. thyme (sarah) 2013/02/13 at 08:05 #

    Ah, that sorbet is a beautiful color! And, I can’t understand why Meyer lemons cannot be found down here in Houston. I’ve been looking for these beauties but they keep alluding me.

    O.K., what do you do??? You pick flowers all day, weave them into beautiful crowns of floral tiaras, place them on your head and go frollicking through the fields of green. Oh, wait…you said there is tons of snow there. O.k….a revision. You are bundled with L.L. Bean everything (I’m guessing you’ll say Patagonia)…wrapped in tons of plaid-ness and checkered-ness…and have the requisite snow shoes strapped to your sturdy boots. Instead of the wreath of wildflowers, you have sprinkles of ice crystals twinkling in your hair!

    You see…I get the same question all the time. You homeschool? What do you Doooooooooo all day long? Who do you and your son TALK to all day long. Sigh. People’s perceptions are so funny.

    Seriously, what you do is vitally important but you are right…it is a job description that most of cannot easily define. That is why we are delighted to drop by and take a peek into your wintery wonderland!

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:49 #

      Whaaaat, no Meyers in Houston? That is crazy. They’ve got to be…… somewhere! After all, I find it hard to believe that I, in my tiny town, have access to anything that people in a large metropolitan region do not. Well, aside from clean air and water, peace and solitude, etc., etc.

      Hehe, love your images of my daily bundled-up life. I don’t have L.L. Bean everything, and I only have two Patagonia items at the present time:) But that’s only because I still have so much to purchase! :D I would say Carhartt and army surplus describe my current outfit a bit more accurately, though I do find myself wishing for more style (always).

      You’re right on the plaid, and you’re right on the ice crystals in my hair!

      Hah, I bet you do get plenty of curveball questions about homeschooling. But I have so much respect for you for following through on it for so long, and doing (I’m sure) a great job with it! Now pop quiz for you and your son: where in Houston are those Meyers hiding out??

  12. movita beaucoup 2013/02/16 at 07:46 #

    1. Did you make sorbet a verb? Yah, you did.
    2. Did you make a sorbet that I’d like to shove by the bucketful into my face? Yah, you did.
    3. Foresting = spiders.

    • emma 2013/02/16 at 07:50 #

      How did you know!? I saw a weird snow spider the other day! I had to nudge it a bit to see if it was alive, but for sure, it was just chillin’ on top of the snow. Weird? Yes.

  13. erin @ yummy supper 2013/02/19 at 14:09 #

    Emma, I’m so curious about your job and what the forestry is all about. I guess I imagine you walking the land, keeping your eye on wildlife and plants. Making sure no humans are doing damage to the land. I’d love to hear more about what you do.
    And your citrus sorbet looks gorgeous! We make blood orange granita at our house and the color always slays me.
    Wishing you well,
    E

  14. Amy 2013/02/23 at 14:03 #

    Wow, the color on this is SO vibrant and beautiful! My husband would absolutely love this. And it seems pretty simple so I really have no excuse not to try it.

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,466 other followers

