oaty lemon + lavender madeleines

15 Sep

The last time I wrote of madeleines, my favorite wee cakelets in all the land, it was March. There was snow on the ground. I had just received my bound master’s thesis, and I made a promise to post a picture of my soon-to-be-planted purple carrots once they were harvested. I haven’t forgotten my promise (promise). I just haven’t harvested any carrots yet.

If you’ve spent any time here, you’ll know that I enjoy playing with flavor profiles, mixing up everyday recipes with unexpected, oftentimes foraged ingredients.

This is not one of those recipes. Lemon is to madeleine as vanilla is to bland analogies; I understand this. But lemon’s presence in these cakelets is amped up by lavender-infused butter. In addition, the flour component in the recipe is mostly replaced by nutty oats, that have been ground with the almonds into a coarse meal texture.

These are not just lemon madeleines. Well, I guess they are, technically. But they are so yummy, and they are an embodiment of fleeting summer days. They are bursting with deliciousness, and with thick, hearty oats. And, most enticingly, they have a hint of lavender without being in-your-face about it – important for those who think of lavender primarily as soap. This may just become my go-to recipe for these cakes; after all, lemon is appealing year-round, whereas something like Pumpkin Spice has a strictly seasonal allure.

And the absolute best way to serve these? With a hefty slathering of Spiced Salted Caramel Sauce, of course. That’s right, it’s back out of the freezer…

Speaking of seasonal allure, fall is here. I love autumn more than almost anything. A few weekends ago, friends of mine came up from New York City to visit and hike at Baxter State Park. Since it was Labor Day weekend and the park was filled to capacity with folks looking to conquer Katahdin, we opted to do the Traveler loop, which is a wonderful day hike (of just over 10 miles) with near-continuous scenic views.

The following photos show just how gorgeous it was in the park over that weekend.

  

Oaty Lemon + Lavender Madeleines {original recipe}

Makes 24

++Ingredients++

1/2 c. unsalted butter + 1 tbsp for madeleine tins
2 tsp lavender flowers
Zest and juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 c. + 3 tbsp almonds
3/4 c. oats
1/3 c. flour
1/2 c. + 3 tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
3 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp vanilla

++Directions++

Melt 1 tbsp of butter and brush into two regular-sized madeleine tins. Cool one minute, then sprinkle flour into each mold. Tap in each direction to evenly coat, then tap out extra. Set aside.

Melt butter in small bowl or saucepan with lemon zest and lavender. Cook on low heat for several minutes, to allow the flavors to infuse. Set aside, let cool.

In a food processor, grind almonds (note: I don’t blanche my almonds – I like them as is. If, however, you’d prefer blanched almonds, do that ahead of time). Add oats, and process until mixture resembles coarse meal. In a large bowl, whisk ground almonds and oats, flour, sugar and baking powder.

In another large bowl, whisk eggs and salt for two to three minutes until well-frothed. Whisk in half of flour mixture. Strain the butter mixture through a sieve so the lavender flowers and lemon zest do not get mixed into the batter. Add vanilla and lemon juice. Switch to a spatula, and fold in the remaining flour mixture.

Transfer batter into a pastry bag, making sure that the tip is large enough to allow almond chunks to pass through. Pipe batter into tins, making sure not to overfill: 2/3 to 3/4 full should be plenty. Alternatively, spoon batter into molds (this will guarantee you get to lick some, as you will probably make a mess).

Chill tins in the fridge for two hours.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Bake tins for 8 – 14 minutes, rotating once. My nonstick tin takes less time to bake than my tin tin: watch your madeleines bake carefully! It’s only a few minutes of your time, but these are important minutes. When the edges turn golden brown, and the center bumps appear cooked (the change is noticeable if you watch them bake), remove pan from the oven. Invert onto a cooling rack, or pry out with a spoon or knife.

Serve dusted with powdered sugar, or with the incomparable Spiced Salted Caramel Sauce.

33 Responses to “oaty lemon + lavender madeleines”

  1. Amy (Savory Moments) 2012/09/15 at 07:55 #

    These are adorable. I don’t have a madaleine pan, but I’m thinking now that I need one. What a lovely flavor combination, too.

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:37 #

      Thanks, Amy! I heartily approve of your plan to purchase a madeleine tin!

  2. frugalfeeding 2012/09/15 at 09:06 #

    What wonderful sounding madeleines! They must have such fantastic flavour!

    • mollisia 2012/09/15 at 10:10 #

      look at this!amazing! and that photos are beautiful!
      i wish I have a madaleine pan – they look sweet :)

      • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:50 #

        Thank you mollisia – you can always make the batter in small muffin tins, too… give it a try!

        • mollisia 2012/09/17 at 09:59 #

          you’re right, but you know…this cute shape of madaleines… ;-) however, I’ll try ;)

          • emma 2012/09/17 at 10:01 #

            I know what you mean – – they’re just so dainty and darling:) Maybe you’ll get lucky and a tin or two will cross your path some day soon!

            • mollisia 2012/09/17 at 10:16 #

              dreams are beautiful :) but who knows… :)

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:49 #

      Yeah, they’re quite lovely!

  3. Silvia 2012/09/15 at 09:30 #

    And now I need a madeleine tin.
    These sound perfect for me… I love lemon, and lavender in small doses.

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:51 #

      Definitely not an overdose of either of those flavors here. Everything is nice and mellow – except for that fantastic caramel sauce!

  4. Mary at n00bcakes 2012/09/15 at 10:04 #

    One day I will splurge on a madeleine pan and make these; you make them seem so lovely! I also haven’t ever done much with lavender, perhaps this is my chance. ^_^

    My dad and I keep kicking around planning a trip to Katahdin to get more of the AT under our belts. You have some beautiful pictures (as usual)! It makes me really want to start planning a trip again!

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:53 #

      Oh my goodness, yes! You should for sure plan a trip up here to do Katahdin! I could come creep on you from a rocky outcrop, err, or, we could meet in person.

      One day, when you splurge on that madeleine tin, you will be oh so very happy:)

  5. mydearbakes 2012/09/15 at 11:16 #

    I’m in love with your bakes, they looked fabulous!

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:54 #

      Thank you:) I do love the graceful look of madeleines!

  6. sarah 2012/09/15 at 11:42 #

    Those sounds incredible. I think the oat addition would be lovely.
    Ever since I tried lemon and lavender rice pudding, I’ve been hooked on the two together.
    Madeleine tins are the prettiest cooking gadget around.

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:56 #

      Thanks sarah – I loved the oat addition, it made them a bit chewier, while also still light and delicate. Perfect for the flavors.

      Yes! Madeleine tins are the prettiest:)

  7. erin @ yummy supper 2012/09/15 at 11:59 #

    Emma, Iemony madelines sound just right to me and lavender butter is a cool way to incorporate that flavor too. Plus, I love your shots of the park. The one of the tree-lined road is especially magical and lush.
    Have a great weekend,
    E

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:58 #

      I took some of those pictures before my camping associates had risen in the morning – the fog was just lifting off the lake, there was a bit of a chill in the air although it was still quite warm, it was silent without a breeze, every tenth tree was starting to turn a brilliant shade of yellow or red…. Magical and lush, I agree.

      Time to start my Monday with a madeleine or two – have a great week!
      xo

  8. Mum 2012/09/15 at 15:54 #

    Oh, you—just an excuse to get at the caramel sauce again! But what a good one:-)

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:58 #

      Yep. You caught me, caramel-handed. And it tastes sooooo goooooood:)

  9. Hannah 2012/09/15 at 21:26 #

    Do you know what these would be good for fueling? AN EPIC MAKE IT OR BREAK IT MARATHON ON THE COUCH TOGETHER WHAT WHAT?

    • emma 2012/09/16 at 00:18 #

      YES. 100% YES!!

  10. leaf (the indolent cook) 2012/09/16 at 06:21 #

    I imagine these must taste very pretty… in my mind, oats and lavender go together beautifully. Also loving the scenic pictures. I can almost feel the fresh air!

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 06:59 #

      I think that’s a good mind-assumption – oats and lavender do seem like an excellent pairing.

      Mmm, the fresh air. It’s very chilly out this morning, eep!

  11. movita beaucoup 2012/09/16 at 08:06 #

    Oh, those madeleines look so amazing! I can smell them from here…

    And I’m not even going to complain that there has been NO MENTION of NEW VENTURE. Nope. Because of the lavender.

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 07:02 #

      I considered putting in a movita-centric footnote containing half a snippet of information pertaining to New Venture, but, ehhh, I’d prefer to see you (not) griping about it in a comment here:)

      Lavender! How I adore it:)

  12. shannon 2012/09/16 at 17:00 #

    i cry at your lovely park photos. how terrific is early fall up there? SO terrific, i feel.
    two (madeleine-related) things: i do not own a madeleine pan, and i don’t honestly know why, because i too love madeleines. it’s sort of how i never had a tart pan. and then i finally got one, and i don’t know how i lived without it. on my christmas list: a madeleine pan.
    i have always been scared of lavender; as in, using it in baking. it’s the soapy thing. are my fears unwarranted? i feel it’s one of those things (like cloves or cardamom) which can go from lovely to WOW WRONG in seconds.
    oh: third thing! i love that you ground up almonds and oats for these; i would have never thought to do this. you’re like a renegade baker.

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 07:07 #

      Early fall is the terrific-est. Yesterday was my first day wearing a sweatshirt all day long, which, while still terrific, is also a saddish sign of the chilly things to come.

      Hey, I don’t have a tart pan! It’s something I’ve made a fuss about for quite a while now, although I honestly don’t think I’d make very many tarts if I had one. Still… I want it. Bad.

      I hope you get your madeleine pan for Christmas:) I also hope you can get past your fear of lavender, although if you’re in the soap camp, there may be no crossing sides to the tasty to eat camp. Aside: I’ve never had too much cardamom. I can’t even picture it going wow wrong. But maybe that’s my Scandinavianness, or my adoration of Beatrice Ojakangas cookbooks.

      I think am a renegade in that I don’t blanche my almonds when making madeleines. But… I just don’t see the point! They taste just as good, and look just as pretty, and rise just as much as madeleines made with blanched almonds!

  13. cheezyk 2012/09/16 at 21:07 #

    … purple carrots!!

    • emma 2012/09/17 at 07:08 #

      That’s right! I remember your request:)

  14. Eva 2012/09/18 at 21:59 #

    This looks delicious.

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,669 other followers

