get yerself some fine, hand-crafted sweeteeth

7 Sep

As the semester sets in and I puzzle over the rules of thesis preparation, the first chocolate bars from my recent trip to Sugar Sugar begin to surface. Chocolate crumbs dwell in the corners of my mouth. And there is no better example of excitement than the look on my face when I get to open up two bars from Sweeteeth, a hip southern chocolate operation made by hipster(s) for hipsters. And other chocolate enthusiasts.

Sweeteeth is fresh outta North Charleston, South Carolina, and is the brainchild of John Eric Battles (chocolate guru, maestro, virtuoso) and Christina Vandiver (economic strategist, entrepreneurial wizard). While having never spoken with either of these individuals, or read anything detailing their claims to be virtuosos or wizards, I’ve been won over by their products from afar for sometime, and have been looking forward to my chance to claiming a piece of this hip history in the making.

Battles uses single-origin chocolate from the Republic of Colombia for all of his creations, which include several unique varieties of chocolate bars as well as interesting truffles. I purchased the two bars available to me at Joni’s shop on the day of my visit: the A’Chocolypse (Popping Ginger), and the Sea if for Caramel (Salted Caramel) bars. They made it home safely, although the caramel bar developed a dangerous ooze factor – which once contained, became a non-threat.

I love the themed use of creatures on the wrapping paper of these bars. Various extinct things on the Popping Ginger bar – what if a massive chocolate apocolypse is what killed the dinosaurs? – and the expected sea beasts on the (sea) Salted Caramel bar.

The A’Chocolypse bar is comprised of 70% dark chocolate, candied ginger, and popping sugar (whatever that is… I was hoping for Pop Rocks. Nope). The ginger and sugar are laid on the bar in generous proportion, but as the ginger is thoroughly candied, the aroma is mostly one of chocolate.

The chocolate itself does not taste terribly complex, but my particular bar has an initial flavor that I can only think to describe as “old” chocolate. While this flavor disappears with the melding of surface sugar and ginger, it leaves me wondering if the chocolate is, in fact, old. With no expiration date to be found, I can only guess.

This ginger hater didn’t have a problem with the spicy addition to the bar. Having consumed an over-the-top-but-delicious ginger beer this past weekend, I have been in training to enjoy this chocolate for at least 72 hours. When one of the large pieces of candied ginger is broken open, its spicy-sweet nature permeates the eating experience. However, the taste is not overwhelmingly ginger. I believe the sugar mellows out the chocolate’s flavors, as well as those of the ginger.

Where the A’Chocolypse left me wondering if the chocolate had been sitting around for a short while before being shipped to Sugar Sugar (the time it took the animals on the packaging to become extinct?), or if this particular batch of Colombian cacao is simply less than stellar, the Sea is for Caramel wowed me. This caramel-filled bar is truly terrific, as in, you need to try it. Now.

Growing up, I loved Caramello candy bars – the oozy caramel, the biting down on each liquid square of joy. This bar takes the Caramello to a new, hand-crafted level; I never want to descend back to that candy bar’s lower echelon again.

Sea is for Caramel combines 62% dark chocolate (of the same Colombian origin) with sugar, heavy cream, glucose, butter, vanilla bean, and sea salt (fleur de sel for you frilly French types). While I’m not used to seeing some of these ingredients in my chocolate bars, I’m also not very used to eating the best salted caramel I have ever tasted… inside of a rather delicious chocolate exterior. These are impressive claims that I am making, yes. But having tasted many versions of caramel – and having created several sha-tasty versions of my own – I know just how excellent this caramel is.

The chocolate tastes much better in this bar. It tastes darker than the 70% of the A’Chocolypse, but perhaps this is due to the burnt nature of the caramel; in addition, the sea salt sprinkled on the bar acts to accentuate the overall dark feeling of the chocolate and of the caramel. The chocolate layer surrounding the filling is quite thick. As the caramel is capable of oozing out of the bar no problem, I appreciate the thickness of the chocolate walls in attempting to staunch the flow. Also, and more importantly, I like the chocolate’s thickness because it serves as a reminder that this is a chocolate bar (with an excellent filling to accentuate the chocolate), rather than merely a candy bar using the chocolate as a vessel for holding some processed innards.

My only near-complaint is that all three segments of the bar are connected, meaning that once you bite in, the caramel is set in motion (m-ocean?). While not a problem, really, it does make sharing difficult; eating the bar in multiple sittings also means you’ll be doing a fair bit of wrapper licking. Again, not really a problem.

My favorite extinct beast was this stink-eyed wooly mammoth / snuffleupagus, lurking, yet alluring, under the outer packaging.

While unimpressed with the chocolate in the A’Chocolypse, I found the concept and ingredients to be rather fetching. I would like to try this bar again, along with about 35 of the Sea is for Caramel bar. There are several other Sweeteeth bars left to try, that promise to be as inspired as those featured here. Props to Battles for coming this far since 2008, when his company began. I look forward to seeing what he comes up with (for my body’s mouth) in the assuredly-sweet future.

Sweeteeth Chocolate

Find them on Facebook. If you’re in the Charleston, SC area, call 843.532.6408; if elsewhere, 864.915.4691. If you don’t like making phone calls (like me), purchase their products here.

11 Responses to “get yerself some fine, hand-crafted sweeteeth”

  1. Christina 2011/09/07 at 10:26 #

    Thanks for the review! Sorry the A’chocolypse didn’t taste fresh. Eek! Also, if you put the caramel bar in the refrigerator after you break off a piece the caramel should firm up and won’t leak out! Great pics!

    • emma schultz 2011/09/07 at 10:37 #

      Christina, Overall, I would say that when broken into sections, the A’Chocolypse tasted exceedingly fresh due to the stirred-up aroma and taste of the ginger. It was just an initial tasting of the chocolate, letting it melt in my mouth (no ginger), where I tasted something that was perhaps stale, perhaps not. As I mentioned, as soon as I incorporated sugar and ginger into the mix, the flavors were well-balanced, excellent really.

      Thank you for the tip with the caramel; I often enjoy trying chocolate in and out of the fridge, as temperature changes seem to alter my tasting experience.

      I look forward to trying more of your products soon!

  2. sarah 2011/09/07 at 11:32 #

    Wow. I love caramel. That bar looks absolutely divine! I think I would have no problem with wrapper licking and oozing caramel.

    I just read this yesterday and thought of you. I’m sure they were referring to more your kind of chocolate eating habits not your typical M&M munching folks such as myself.

    http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/dessert-products/doctors-orders-eat-more-chocolate-154996

    • emma schultz 2011/09/07 at 13:05 #

      sarah, this bar IS divine! I highly recommend ordering one (or four) for yourself to try out – you will be impressed.

      It really is convenient that the doctor orders us to eat more chocolate, eh? I feel like going for my PhD just so I can start sentences with “The doctor prescribes…” However, I think it’s even cooler that in just a few months I can say “The master orders you to eat more chocolate.” Or something along those lines.

      I like M&M’s too!

  3. Brianne 2011/09/07 at 12:43 #

    Epic amounts of oozy salted caramel?!?! Be still my heart. Hope your work is going well! I’m finding it immensely difficult. We must trudge forward…with lots of chocolate to keep us going!

    • emma schultz 2011/09/07 at 14:24 #

      Brianne: You must try this bar. If you care a whit about caramel (and I think you do), then this is the bar for you. I hear that Sweeteeth is available for sale at Cordullo’s in Cambridge, Mass; if you don’t want to purchase online (but you do… don’t you?), check them out there if you’re ever down in Boston… hangin’ tough.

      My work is going moderately okay, but I’ve taken a few steps backwards to re-analyze all of my imagery, in the hopes of a better end product. We’ll see! Good luck trudging:)

  4. Silvia 2011/09/07 at 15:07 #

    These bars look beautiful. And while I’m not a fan of filled chocolates, I could see myself enjoying the caramel filled one.

    • emma schultz 2011/09/07 at 16:13 #

      Silvia, glad you like the looks of these; I sure enjoyed the taste! I’m not a huge fan of filled chocolates, either, but I don’t think it’s possible to go wrong with a well-made, still-liquid caramel. And in this case, it went really right:)

  5. Hannah 2011/09/08 at 01:34 #

    Oh heavens, chocolate with crystallised ginger and pop rocks (if they actually popped) sounds like the most demon chocolate imaginable to my mind (which could only be worse with the addition of hell-orange).

    Thankfully you also showcased divine heavenly salted caramel, so I can cope with this post okay.

    :)

    • emma schultz 2011/09/08 at 09:39 #

      Hannah, tsk tsk. Now, I normally hate ginger more than anyone else I’ve ever met before. How to make it worse? Candy it, and pretend that it’s a sweet treat. Sure.

      But I chose to face my fears, and I’m glad I did as it actually wasn’t overwhelming. Just a nice soft burn (which, admittedly, still doesn’t sound preferable to ginger bashers such as ourselves. Tangent: I would never bash gingers, as I’ve always wanted to have red hair myself). It probably helped that I suffered through / ‘enjoyed’ a super strong ginger beer a few days before eating this.

      I will never stop loving orange. Or divine heavenly salted caramel.

  6. EricIndiana 2012/11/24 at 00:03 #

    God, those are some beautiful chocolate pictures! And I thought I came up with the word “achocolypse”: http://daisybrain.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/the-coming-achocolypse/

And now I'd like to pass the mic / So you c'mon and do anything you like ...aka, Leave your reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,041 other followers

